Windows 7 64bit fails to mount images properly

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by idreaminbeige, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. idreaminbeige macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #1
    I'm running Win7 ultimate 64 fully up to date, with bootcamp 3.1 running on my 2009 imac.

    For some reason whatever software I try (alcohol 52, daemon tools, virtual clone drive) images mount, so I can see the files on them, but when I try to use these files/open an application I get this message or something similar:

    [​IMG]

    I've checked around as much as I can. Im definitely using the most up to date Win7 compatible versions of the virtual drive software, and after reading about a potential conflict with the SPTD layer (not fully understanding, just doing) I updated this to the latest 1.69 as well.

    Could this just be a problem for bootcamp users? Any help very welcome!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #2
    It looks from your screenshots that the image file is mounting because there is a drive letter associated with whatever the image is, in this case it is E.

    It looks like you are trying to run a software installer that may not be compatible with Win7 64 bit. Though most software that runs on 32 bit will also run on 64 bit. There are exceptions though. Maybe it's not compatible with Windows 7. What is the software?

    I don't think mounting the image (an iso file?) is the problem.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    FWIW I've used virtual clonedrive on w764 successfully.

    B
     
  4. idreaminbeige thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    #4
    Yep, whenever people have had problems before it's been using old software before win7 compatibility came along. My VCD is 5.4 so it should work fine.

    Im trying to mount a game installer (i DO own my own copy) so the 64bit version issue should'nt matter, its for mass effect 2 which was only released at the start of the year.
     
  5. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    same issue here, W7 x64 on latest MBP with 8GB RAM.

    recent games as:
    • Batman Asylum, MA 2, Assasins Creed 2 fail with such message that it's not compatible.

    all these games should work on W7 x64.

    Using latest daemon tools lite. WTF !?
     
  6. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    Yes, I have noticed the same behaviour under Win7 64 bit, for a few apps. Never figured out why. For a while it drove me 'nanas but now I've more or less given up. (I did actually toy with the idea of just reinstalling Win7 32 bit but that seemed a little extreme.)

    One thing - does anyone know if this issue is daemontools-specific? Like do the same errors occur with CloneCD or whatever those other image mounter apps are called?
     
  7. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    installed old XP sp3 32-bit. tried both Daemon tools and virtual clone drive.
    both fail to mount images properly!

    i've the ISO files on external FW 800 drive. real headache.
    i know in the past when i had C2D 2.93GHz MBP it worked.

    is something different with the i7 CPU architecture that mess things up ?
     
  8. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    Hm ok that's unexpected. I presumed it was Win7 64-specific. Curiouser and curiouser.
     
  9. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9

Share This Page