Windows 7 64bit vs 32 bit question

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jkim229, Feb 3, 2010.

1. jkim229 macrumors newbie

So I'm pretty new to the whole 64bit/32 bit tech talk, all I use in XP is for gaming. I have WinXP SP3 installed using bootcamp in my unibody macbook pro 13". But since I'm still in college, I was able to get my hand on both 64 bit and 32 bit CD's of Win7 for free. So I was thinking about installing Win7 and cleaning out XP.

What I want to know is which one should I use? I'm having no problems using XP but I heard 7 is generally better. Would games such as CoD:Modern Warfare 2 and Mass effect 2 run on 64 bit Win7? I just want to make sure that my games will work in Win7 64 bit.

Or should I just stay in XP...I read around that Win7 is able to read the 4gb of ram and utilize it while XP only recognizes 2.7gb

Thanks all-

2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

If you have or are planning on getting 4GB or more of RAM, then x64 is the way to go, IMO. All the 32bit games will work. Going forward, this allows you to install 64bit versions of games as they become available.

3. jkim229 thread starter macrumors newbie

Sweet, guess I'll be installing Win7 64bit this weekend. And then redownloading 50gb's worth of games >.<

Are the drivers updated and stuff? I've been seeing a lot of posts with a lot of troubles with Win7 through bootcamp.

4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

Never had problems on my late 07 iMacs. Its usually the newer hardware that has issues. If you make a backup of your games to an external, you could copy them back over to the new install. It worked for WoW and Steam for me. 9400m has been around a while now.