Windows 7-64bit?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Aspen, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. Aspen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #1
    I have OSX 10.8/Mountain Lion and would like to add Windows 7 using Fusion.

    Would I need the 32 bit or 64 bit version of Windows 7?

    Thanks.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    You can use whatever version you want, both will be fine.
     
  3. Quad5Ny, Jan 14, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2013

    Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #3
    If you have more than 3GB of RAM then you should go with 64-bit. But either will work.

    Now just because it works doesn't mean Apple supports it. On some computers Apple has not been including 32-bit Drivers in its (Boot Camp) Windows Support driver package. So keep that in mind.
    .
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    If you're going to be use windows by way of vmware then I'd recommend using the 32bit. The potential benefit of 64bit computing is overshadowed by the overhead needed by vmware to handle the OS.
     

Share This Page