Windows 7 and Parallels

Discussion in 'iMac' started by krawfo, May 17, 2011.

  1. krawfo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #1
    I'm brand new to Macs so please be gentle!
    I'm trying to install a Windows 7 Academic upgrade via Parallels. Depending on where/what you read, it seems that this may not be possible. If not, how about with Boot Camp?
    Can anyone link me to some help?
    Thanks in advance.
    Ken
     
  2. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #2
    Unless you already have Windows 7 installed, it won't work. You need a full version of Windows, not an upgrade.
     
  3. Binary Ninja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #3
    I am just new to MAC myself and looking to do the same for my games but from my understanding it has to be a full O/S ... I was with PC's and sold and built them for 15 odd years so the upgrade you have went over the top of the older o/s ... maybe you can do the same but you would have to install the older o/s then upgrade to Win 7 Academic ...

    Setting up bootcamp under the full o/s you had previously then adding 7 upgrade but those licenses will be taken by previous machine unless never used maybe easier to buy new full o/s
     
  4. krawfo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #4
    I managed to get Windows installed via Bootcamp and everything runs fine. I would like to run it with Parallels. Will I have to re-install Windows when setting up Parallels or can I use the existing install?
    Thanks.
     
  5. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #5
    Use the existing install. I haven't used Parallels, but as I hear it you can point it to your Boot Camp partition. Fusion does this as well.
     
  6. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #6
    Fusion can run your bootcamp, but it also allows you to import your bootcamp into a proper vm, which runs a bit faster and allows you I stall vmware tools so you don't have the hassle of reregistering your windows, office etc.
     

Share This Page