Windows 7 blue screen on boot up, any ideas?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Jaasen Jones, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. Jaasen Jones macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #1
    I'm running Windows 7 professional. (it was released to the college early and IT students get a free copy) I installed it on my 2.8 UMBP, and after windows booted up, I installed the drivers from the boot camp on my mbp installation disc. After booting up again, i get the blue screen. I've reinstalled multiple times and still the same issue and it's always after I install the drivers from the boot camp disc. Any ideas on what is causing the issue from the disc?
     
  2. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Well, hate to state the obvious, but it sounds like it's one of the drivers. Start up in safe mode (by holding down F8 I believe) and check the error report to see what's happening.
     
  3. Jaasen Jones thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #3
    It was the bootcamp.exe file. I went into msconfig and disabled it and no blue screen, but this affects keyboard and mouse layout in performance. I assume it might be best to wait until bootcamp is updated to provide better support for windows 7, but im still looking at what other people did because I'd like to get it running stable now than later.
     
  4. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #4
    You could try installing the bootcamp 3.0 drivers in compatibility mode. Right click the setup.exe on the CD, properties, select the compatability mode tab and select Vista SP1 as the OS and tick the Run as Administrator box, click ok then run.

    That works for me and another 4 Macs I've stuck 7 RTM on so far..
     
  5. Jaasen Jones thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #5
    I will try that, thanks for the tip. I installed a trial of parallels to try and that works fine, but I want the os to run natively and not emulated on the desktop.
     

Share This Page