Windows 7, Bootcamp and VMWare Fusion 3

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jb60606, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. jb60606 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    I bootcamped Windows 7 Professional on my Mac Pro, on a separate hard drive.

    I installed VMWare Fusion 3 on Snow Leopard to access the bootcamped Windows 7 and now it prompts me, daily, to activate Windows. It says I have 14 days left.

    If I boot into Windows, it says it is already activated. If I try to activate it in Fusion, using the same key, as expected it tells me that the key is already in use.

    1.) Does anyone know a way around this? If I lose access to 7 in Fusion, I'm screwed, as I need access to both OS simultaneously.
    2.) Do you think this has to do with the fact that I installed Windows 7 on a separate hard drive (**explanation below)?

    I noticed that if you install Windows/Bootcamp on a separate drive, VMWare Fusion loses track of it after you reboot the physical machine. If you keep rebooting it, it'll eventually find the bootcamp drive/partition again.
     
  2. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #2

    Use the option to call and activate by phone, and activate while inside VMWare Fusion. Its a very quick process. Just make sure when asked you say its only installed on 1 PC, don't mention Boot Camp/Mac/Fusion.

    After that's done, VMWare should save your activation and properly switch between its activation and Boot Camps(hopefully).
     
  3. robanga macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    I am having the same issue with a Windows 7 copy and Fusion 3.0.

    Why not tell the activation person that it is one machine with a partition and a VM? Does Microsoft expect you to license two copies in this scenario?
     
  4. jb60606 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Thanks Quad5Ny. That worked!

    Robanga, activate over the phone like Quad recommended. It's a pretty painless automated service.
     
  5. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #5
    Yes, ordinarily you are supposed to have a license for each physical and virtual version of windows. However I don't think ms really anticipated both physical and virtual sharing the same physical space.

    Cheers,
     
  6. lawjef macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    #6
    And vice versa?

    I am trying to do the opposite i.e. I have Win7 running on VMWare and want to use Win7 on Bootcamp. Does anyone know how I deal with that registration issue? I can't seem to access the installed version of Win7 on my VMWare partition during the Bootcamp installation process. Thanks.

    I'm hoping that Bootcamp might run faster than VMWare 3.0 because I don't need to access my Mac programs while running my PC applications. Might be a fool's errand.
     
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    Why not have one install of Windows 7 on Boot Camp and link VMWare Fusion to use it whenever you're in the Mac side?

    Boot Camp is "Dual Booting". VMWare Fusion is a virtual machine. No matter what, Boot Camp will be faster but the downside is it requires a restart.
     
  8. lawjef macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    #8
    Thanks, Ayeying - I have already installed Win7 on my VMWare partition. The problem now is that I cannot access that VMWare installation of Win7 when trying to install Bootcamp. I cannot reinstall the same Win7 licence a second time on the same computer (as far as I can tell). Agree with you on Dual Booting and don't mind the restart.
     
  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    More details!

    Which W7 edition and version (OEM, retail, retail upgrade, 32/64 bit).

    What is stopping you from reinstalling? Error? Activation?

    B
     
  10. jb60606 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Almost.

    Both VMWare and Parallels can either boot from (i.e. share with Boot Camp) or import existing Boot Camp partitions to a new VM (this is called P2V physical to virtual conversion).

    Going from a virtual only install to a physical install (i.e. V2P) is not directly enabled or supported, but there are guides and third party tools to at least try it. http://www.vmware.com/support/v2p/

    B
     
  12. jb60606 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #12
    I see. Thanks for the info. I'll remove my last post
     

Share This Page