Windows 7 Bootcamp - how much useable memory?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ZBoater, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #1
    For those running Windows 7 on Bootcamp on your MBAs, how much useable memory do you have? It seems different models of Mac laptops yield different numbers, so I am asking for MBAs specifically.

    I run Windows 7 32-bit, have 4GB RAM total, 2.16 useable. :eek:

    I am aware of the 4GB limitation, and of the things that eat into that number. My concern is that 1.84GB seems excessive. I've read some folks with MacBook Pros have 3GB useable, which is what I would expect to see on the MBA.

    How much do you have?
     
  2. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #2
    I use 64-bit, so I can't really give you a fair comparison, but consider that the HD 3000 will use up 384MB of the RAM. 2.16GB does seem very low, however.
     
  3. billy12 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
  4. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #4
    That's ok, how much do you have? I'm curious.

    ----------

    Because for what I run I didn't need 64 bit. 64 bit still runs a little wonky, even Office 2010 and IE 64 bit have "issues". With only 4GB of RAM I didn't think I'd need it, but if I can only use 2GB, I may have to switch.
     
  5. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
  6. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #6
    If the 64bit version makes a difference in a system with only 4GB of RAM, I will. But only 2GB is not normal, even for 32bit.
     
  7. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #7
    On 64bit you should be able to see and use all 4GB, minus the stuff that is reserved for the GPU.
     
  8. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #8
    Well, I thought Windows 7 32 bit would also let me see 4GB minus video. Let's see how much usable memory 64bit Windows users get on their MBAs since we all have the same hardware and 4GB max RAM.

    Come to think about it, it may not be worth it for me to reinstall Windows and putting up with some of the weirdness for 1-1.5GB extra RAM. Windows is pretty snappy right now. It just bugs me that almost 2GB disappears on the Air where other Macs get 3GB on a similar setup.
     
  9. komoornik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #9
    Besides, there is a nice touchpad driver but it's only for 64 bit version.
     
  10. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #10


    According to Resource Monitor, I have 4096MB total memory, of which 90MB is "Hardware Reserved" (I'm assuming for the HD 3000), another 32MB "Modified" (whatever that means), 1112MB In Use, leaving 2861MB available. I have Norton Internet Security and some Lexmark utilities in the background for my printer (in addition to the Boot Camp items).

    ----------

    Where is this available from?
     
  11. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #12
    Thanks KPOM. Interesting. That is what I would have expected from 32 bit Windows. Any other 32 or 64 bit Windows users out there care to share?
     
  12. Jordan9 macrumors member

    Jordan9

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    I just checked mine on a 2011 11" Air with i5 and 4GB Ram. Resource Monitor says I have: Available - 1559 MB; Cached 547 MB; Total 2216 MB; Installed 4096 MB. The Available RAM fluctuated a small amount while I had Resource Monitor open.
    Edit: I'm running 32 bit.
     
  13. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #14
    Thank you Jordan. It seems you and I are in the same boat. 64 bit seems to give 3GB useable, 32 bit only 2GB.

    Weird and disappointing... :(
     
  14. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #15
    Well, to be fair, it seems that 64-bit is giving us 3.9GB (4GB less the 90MB demanded by the HD3000 upfront), while 32-bit is giving you 2.9GB. Windows and the various add-ons are taking up about 900MB on both of our systems.

    That said, it looks like there definitely is an advantage in using 64-bit for us Boot Camp users.
     
  15. richpjr macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #16
    Timely thread as I have been considering loading Win7 on my MBA. I guess I know which version I'll be using.
     
  16. rhinosrcool macrumors 65816

    rhinosrcool

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #17
    I concur. This has been a helpful thread.:)
     

Share This Page