Windows 7 Branded OEM via Parallels? Need help!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Brooke00000, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. Brooke00000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #1
  2. seniorgeek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #2
    I successfully installed Windows Vista OEM version on my Imac running Lion with VirtualBox which is free. Hope this helps.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    I'll spare you my OEM rant which you can easily find. (EDIT: e.g. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1174642)

    The issue here from the OP's link is that these are not "plain vanilla" OEM discs but are somehow branded. Sometimes this means that they have been customized for a particular OEM and may preinstall stuff you don't want or need.

    If you must use OEM, get a plain vanilla aka unbranded OEM license. Like: http://www.softwaresupplygroup.com/microsoft-windows-7-home-premium-64bit-oem-gfc-00599.html

    EDIT: Also, do you have enough RAM to justify 64 bit in a VM. (i.e. will you dedicate 4GB or more to the VM?)

    B
     
  4. Brooke00000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #4
    Good question. In Parallels, do you set the amount of RAM you are going to dedicate? I was thinking about dedicating 2... and I have read so many different opinions on this subject I can't decide if I should go with the 32 bit or the 64 bit. So, I assume you are thinking 32?
     
  5. Brooke00000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #5
    Also, I just read your entire OEM post. What's funny is that I was originally doing this because even though I'm a student, and have XP installed on my old Macbook, I didn't feel like the upgrade version (while MUCH cheaper) was the right thing to do. Now you are making me think this isn't much better.
     

Share This Page