windows 7 downloaded as ISO.exe

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by skippymac, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. skippymac macrumors 6502a

    skippymac

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #1
    Hi, i bought windows 7 from digital river and i got this file DLMWin7Pro32UK-ISO.exe

    this opens with text edit. Im wondering how i can burn this to a disk to install in bootcamp?

    thanks,

    Matt
     
  2. skippymac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    skippymac

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #3
    thanks, i tried this but it doesnt seem to be working, could it be something to do with the .exe at the end?
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Yeah, that's meant for Windows. It's probably an upgrade version so you double click it on Windows and it executes the file (thus the .exe ending) and start installing it. For Mac and generally, you need an .iso file. If you got the serial, you could just download it from another site (yes, even torrent is fine as you're going to use a legit license/serial) or contact the place you bought it from
     
  4. skippymac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    skippymac

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #5
    it seems weird that it has ISO and .exe at the end?

    i ordered a disk too so i may just wait for that to arrive?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Wait for the disc, it should work.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    You can download ISOs directly from official sources via links I have posted many times. Search the forum a bit and you'll find it.

    B
     
  7. sup3r1or macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    Try renaming it to .ISO instead of EXE.

    IF that fails go to someone who has windows running and run it there, it might be compressed package that will expand into ISO file.
     

Share This Page