Windows 7 From image does not recognize resize

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by taysoren, May 30, 2012.

  1. taysoren macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #1
    So I wanted my windows 7 partition larger. So I made an image, saved it to an external HD. Removed the old partition, and used bootcamp to recreate a new larger partition. Then I restore windows from the image using the W7 install CD.

    So all fine and dandy i have windows up and running.

    Only one problem, windows does not recognize the resizing. It sees itself as the same size as it was when i imaged it. And the rest of the space (mainly) in one big block.

    How do I force windows to recognize that it really does have more space to work with??
     
  2. Sincci macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Before you try this trick, make sure to backup of your OSX partition since there is a slight possibility of it ruining every partition in your system.

    In Windows, type diskmgmt.msc in the start menu's search bar and press enter. You should now see all your partitions, including the bootcamp partition which is labeled with drive letter C:. Select that one with right mouse button and see if you can use the extend volume option. This usually let's you extend the partition to it's full capacity if there's some unpartitioned space left in the disk.
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    Technical explanation: Resizing the physical partition on the disk does NOT also resize the associated file system. This is why Windows won't report having any additional space available to it, until you resize the C: drive as Sincci suggests.
     
  4. taysoren thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #4
    No extend option

    I have extended the bootcamp size, So the partition is larger, But windows does not give me the option to Extend the size. Is the new size not fully formatted? Windows can only show 4 partitions. So I have mac and its little partition and windows and its little piece, so it does not show me the "Unused" space that I would normally use to extend my partition.

    Has anyone ever done this themselves successfully without a 3rd party app.

    (Last time I tried using third party app, EasyUs, it screwed up both OS)
     
  5. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #5
    Is there a 3rd party app that even does this? I am having the exact same issue and haven't found a solution. Hoping there is a 3rd party solution otherwise the only route I see is to just abandon my win7 backup and just start my windows install again from scratch. Fortunately I don't have much installed there and honestly I've wasted far more time trying to get my win7 backup working than if I had just started over in the first place. I pity the fool who has a large and complex win7 install he needs to rebuild.

    Windows partition manager and OSX disk utility are reporting 2 different things for partitions, and trying to modify the partitions in OSX hoses the entire system making both windows and Lion totally and unrecoverable unbootable. I am unable to make any changes in the partitions in Win7 so I'm totally bound. I have to wipe the drive and start all over every time.

    Getting bootcamp using Lion seems to be a massive trainwreck. I don't recall having anything near this much trouble when I first did bootcamp on SL. WTF am I doing wrong?
     
  6. Hidream macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #6

Share This Page