Windows 7 Home Premium - Multiple processors?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CptnJustc, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. CptnJustc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    #1
    Perhaps my Google skills are fail today, but I can't find anything there or on Microsoft's site about whether the Windows 7 Home editions retain the just-one-processor (with however many cores) rule. Anyone know if I'll be able to access all eight cores on my mac pro with Win 7 Home Premium?
     
  2. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #2
    If its not a feature of the business version then all of them have it.
     
  3. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #3
    If I recall correctly, you won't be able to. I believe Home Premium is restricted to one "physical" processor. Windows 7 Professional and Ultimate can use both.
     
  4. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #4
    You were correct about six months ago when there was talk about Home Premium only supporting one socket late last year but since they announced the starter edition and the likelihood of dual socket i7 systems being offered they've upped it to two like Pro and Ultimate.

    The differences in the versions are here
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    There really appears to be very little difference between Home P and Pro save for XP mode and some networking things.
     
  6. CptnJustc thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    #6
    Ah, excellent, many thanks.
     

Share This Page