Windows 7 .iso Boot Camp help

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jl937, Oct 6, 2011.

1. jl937 macrumors newbie

so i get a free windows 7 download from my school and i'm trying to install it on my MBP. couldn't get it to work, but i do have the registration code, so i downloaded a .iso of Windows 7 Professional. boot camp isn't recognizing it though. what do i have to do so that boot camp will recognize it as the Windows 7 setup? i've tried burning the .iso to a disk, that didn't work. also tried mounting the .iso on the desktop and burning the contents to a disk. that also didn't work... total beginner at this, please help!

2. leekaiwei macrumors member

leekaiwei

3. johnhurley macrumors 6502a

johnhurley

What kind of computer do you have?

What operating system are you running?

Are you using the bootcamp setup assistant?

4. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

You need to burn it to a disc properly, which is easy to mess up if you don't know what you are doing. Burn OS X (http://burn-osx.sf.net) can help.

As the previous poster asked. Which Mac (as specific as possible) and OS?

B

5. jl937 thread starter macrumors newbie

i have a mid-2010 MBP, 2.4GHz dual core i5, 4gigs memory, running OSX Lion 10.7.1. yes, I'm using Boot Camp Assistant, and it's not really giving any "error message". i burnt the .iso to a disk but evidently that's not enough for boot camp assistant to recognize it as the windows install disk that i want to use? when it says to insert the windows 7 install disk i insert the disk with the .iso file and a message comes up that says "insert your Windows installer disk and wait a few seconds for the disk to be recognized" or something like that.

6. jl937 thread starter macrumors newbie

7. Bob Coxner macrumors 6502a

I did mine on a 2011 MBA, so I don't know if this method will work for you or not.