Windows 7---Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MAC-PRO-DEMON, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. MAC-PRO-DEMON macrumors 6502a

    MAC-PRO-DEMON

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Up north in Yorkshire :)
    #1
    I don't know if this is where I should post this... But hey!!!

    I am looking into installing Windows 7 in bootcamp on my MP...
    At current, I am using VMWare Fusion and Vista 64 Ultimate and that will stay as my main windows platform... But I have decided to play some Win Games (Flightsim X) and that just can't handle it!!!

    You could say that my iMac... Which currently has Win 7 on it would work fine, but... The 1.5GB of Graphics in my MP is quite a seller on that respect!!!

    Also, would all of my MP hardware work??? I would not expect it to recognize my Mac Formatted Harddrives but I have a 1 and 2TB drives that can have a bootcamp partition put on (right???)

    The Machines Specs are 3.2GHz 8-Core, 16GB, 1.5GB Quadro (Model Number???), 2x LG Blueray Burners, 2x Toshiba Medical Display (3MP)

    Thanks,
    Jack
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    It should work, but mind you Windows 7 is beta which means whether or not it will be smooth is still untold.
     
  3. yezza macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #3
    Hi Jack,

    I have Windows 7 Beta 64bit (7000 build) installed on its own drive in my 2.8 Mac Pro with 8800GT and 6GB ram. It runs like a gem, but then I don't have many applications installed. I use the Windows install mostly for engineering software (Solidworks). I also have this running through VMware. The install was all very straight forward in my experience.

    I can't see why you wouldn't have the same experience. If you go ahead let us know how you go :)
     
  4. mateus macrumors member

    mateus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I tried to install one of the newer Windows 7 builds on my MBP (think it was 7022) but boot camp refused to accept the disc as a valid Windows install.

    Just something to note, but maybe I got a dud copy (although it worked fine in my Dell).

    M.
     
  5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    Hey OP, you have the same name as me! Anyway, back on topic. All distributions of Windows 7 has a problem with EFI-Boot. I ran into this same problem, and had to go through this elaborate workaround. I wrote a thread about it. Give me a few seconds to dig it out.

    Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008
    Me too. I finally got x64 version working. So here's how:

    1. If you get a "select cd-rom boot type:" error when booting off the install disc to install, keep reading.
    2. Eject disc and use windows to rebuild the ISO. In my case, I installed 32-bit Windows 7 on my MacBook.
    3. Rebuild the ISO following these instructions, replacing the "server2008" with Windws7 or whatever name. Be sure to note these changes in the command line and adjust the command given in step 4 to match the folder names (server2008 to whatever).
    4. Either try burning the ISO to disc using Windows or copy the ISO file to any external media and boot back to Mac and use Disk Utility to burn the ISO. On Mac, drag the ISO to the desktop, and open Disk Utility. Drag the ISO on the left panel, below the other disks. Insert DVD and click burn.
    5. Insert disc and reboot. Before/at the "bong", hold option and select the Windows disc. Install and have fun with Windows 7 (don't think wrong)!!!
     
  6. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #6
    I just opened the '.iso' under OS X, copied the contents to a FAT
    partition, and booted off that. Absolutely trivial and took seconds.
     
  7. mateus macrumors member

    mateus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I'll certainly be trying again based on the above replies. I'd forgotten the Vista & W7 DVDs are HD images (right?) so copying the disc contents via OSX to the Windows partition would make sense.
     
  8. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

    drlunanerd

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Doh! Why didn't I do that before making 2 DVD coasters? :eek:
     

Share This Page