Windows 7 not mounting an ISO, need to burn it?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by upsguy27, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. upsguy27 macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    I have an ISO backup of NFS: Undercover (yes, I bought the retail game but the original disc is lost), and I'm trying to install it on Windows 7 but it won't install no matter what ISO mounting program I use. It just says "The version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running." When I try to run the setup. I've tried compatibility mode and such, I've tried different versions of Windows 7 (x86 and x64), I've tried different ISOs of different games, nothing will make any game run under a virtual drive in 7.

    I had to burn another game of mine onto a disc before it would work in 7, so I'm assuming NFS: Undercover will work as well if it's on a disc. Problem is, it's 500MB too big for a regular DVD and I don't have any DL discs. There has to be some way to compress that 500MB. It seems stupid to waste an entire DL disc for 500MB. I've tried compressing it to .daa but the extra bit is still there. There has to be *some* way to install this game without having to go out and buy DL discs. Anyone know how?
     
  2. Zombie Acorn macrumors 65816

    Zombie Acorn

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #2
    Most dvds are 4.7 gb capacity aren't they? CDs are 700 mb.
     
  3. upsguy27 thread starter macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Right, and the ISO is 4.8 GB.
     
  4. thefnshow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
  5. upsguy27 thread starter macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    If you had read my post, you would know that I specifically asked if there was a way to do it without using a Dual Layer DVD.
     
  6. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

    Demosthenes X

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #6
    If there was a way to do what DLDVDs do without using DLDVDs, we wouldn't need DLDVDs, would we? Stop being a cheap ass and go buy a proper disk.
     
  7. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Maybe the copy protection screwed up your rip. This can happen and can add data on to the beginning/end of the disc.
     
  8. upsguy27 thread starter macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    I've used it before... just never in Windows 7.
     
  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    Two thoughts.

    1. PowerISO claims to support Windows 7. Have you tried it?

    2. Mount the ISO in OS X and copy the contents over to a USB stick?

    B
     

Share This Page