Windows 7 on MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by vicnic, Sep 12, 2011.

1. vicnic macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

I am considering installing Windows 7 on my MBA to use it for some programs for school which are not designed for OSX.

I do not have the external DVD-drive.

I will be downloading a student version of Windows 7 which will be downloaded as a .dmg file.
    Is it possible to install this file without the use of an external drive?

It might be a silly question by I am really a Mac rookie :).

Thanks in advance.

2. Gregintosh macrumors 68000

I wonder if you can "burn" this installation onto a Flash drive or SD card... that could work. Also, if you google around I think there are instructions out there for how to create a Windows installable Flash drive/SD card for PCs, which I think might also work on the Mac.

I am also not 100% positive on this, but the Air has that "remote disc" feature which might work too. Hope some of that helps.

3. DESNOS macrumors 6502

You have the option to burn the DMG to its own partition after you create the bootcamp partition. Shrink the Mac OS partition in Disk Utility, then create a new partition. Make sure it's big enough for the DMG, and it should work. Restore the image to the new partition in Disk Utility. Remote disk would work too.

4. dennya macrumors regular

dennya

From Apple's Boot Camp support site:

■Support for the Windows 7 ISO installer
    Install Windows with an installation disc you provide or, on Mac computers that do not have an optical drive, with a USB flash drive that contains a Windows 7 ISO image downloaded from Microsoft. The Boot Camp Assistant will offer to create this image on supported computers.

(Win 7 would be an ISO, not a .dmg, which is a Mac format.)

5. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

iAppl3Fan