Windows 7 on VM - Need Suggestions

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jashsayani, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. jashsayani macrumors regular

    jashsayani

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #1
    I want to install Windows 7 RC1 (Build 7100) on my Mac mini. I need suggestions on what VM to use: VMware, VirtualBox, Parallels, or another one (let me know). It should run like its running natively and should not be sluggish at all...

    I also need full Aero support.


    Please throw some suggestions.... Thanks.
     
  2. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #2
    I don't think you can get Aero in VMs. None of the companies mention it as a feature and I know VMWare is working on a driver for Vista, but they said it's a lot more difficult then people think.

    And of course you mean that when RC is actually available, right ;) Since it'll be posted to MSDN on Thursday and to the public on May 5th. You're just looking for advice now for future planning, right?
     
  3. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #3
    So, you want it to run as if it's not in a virtual machine... Your best option for that is to run it via BootCamp.

    A virtual machine can't run an OS at native speeds, sorry. You're not asking something that's possible right now.
     
  4. jashsayani thread starter macrumors regular

    jashsayani

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #4
    Well, I have read at many places that its difficult to get Aero working on a VM. However, there would be many running it. So, I am asking of Suggestions and hope to get a solution to that.

    And as of the Windows 7 RC1: No. I am not future planning. I have the Build 7100 RC1 DVD in my hand right now. The May 5th date is for a Public release. :)
     
  5. synagence macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #5
    VMware and parallels support DX9c in VM .... but you'll need the new macmini ... the old one doesn't work
     
  6. neilhart macrumors 6502

    neilhart

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area - Fremont
    #6
    I am fairly certain that you can not get there with a Mac Mini. I have VMware Fusion running Windows7 beta on a Q6600 with 4GBs of memory and while the performance is respectable it is dog slow compared to a native installation on the same lintel/Gigabyte/Nvida hardware.

    Neil
     
  7. Poncho macrumors 6502

    Poncho

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Holland
    #7
    I've been running the Beta using Parallels. Works a treat. Had a roblem with no sound at first, but an update to the Beta from Microshit solved it.
     
  8. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #8
    You can get Aero in VMWare? A dev posted in the forum saying they're having difficulty figuring out the drivers and can't get it to work, even with their DX9 ShaderModel 2 support? Did they not update that post/info? The post says the shader support is only for XP, not Vista, because the driver is a lot more difficult in Vista. They couldn't figure out a virtual WDDM compliant driver.

    Of course I've never tried, I'm still using XP in my VM, no need for Vista.


    And OP, I was being...shall we say..."informative" to you. Discussion of acquiring thing by not-so-legitimate means is forbidden around here. Unless you torrented/newsgrouped the RC1 build, you don't have it (unless you work for MS, and then you wouldn't be looking for answers you'd already have). Like I said, it's not available to devs or MSDN people until Thursday. I know, I have an MSDN Universal subscription. And public release is the 5th. So I was helping you not get flamed for having it before release since there are rules around here about that stuff and a lot of people seem to have problems about acquiring software through the improper channels.
     
  9. jashsayani thread starter macrumors regular

    jashsayani

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #9
    Ok. I have the Old one (2nd Gen). Without the Nvidia card.


    Well, I know VM is a bit slower.... I used Vista on VirtualBox earlier. But I would love to get it working at native speeds...


    I think Parallels is convincing. Is Aero working?

    In that case i'll go for it.


    Well, I have acquired it from a legit source. A friend is at M$ and gave me the disk. However, he is a Windows user and I am a Mac user, so I need help on getting it on VM as smoothly as possible, so the system is not sluggish.
     

Share This Page