Windows 7 or 8

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Motoxmann, Jan 19, 2014.

  1. Motoxmann macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #1
    Expecting delivery of new iMac tomorrow and want to install windows through bootcamp solely for gaming purposes. Should I go with 7 or 8.1? I've heard a ton of mixed stuff on 8 so don't know if its worth it. Thanks.
     
  2. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #2
    While I don't mind 8.1, I still prefer Windows 7. If you can get 7, use that.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    I'd go with win8 at this point since you now can disable the metro interface and get the start button back. I personally prefer win7 but I'm hearing more positive feedback with win8
     
  4. tymaster50 macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    i've had both, i like win 8.1, but if you like simple go for win 7. you can always upgrade like i did. it was flawless, no need to edit the partition or anything it was like a regular upgrade. You just have to reinstall apple bootcamp drivers
     
  5. Motoxmann thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #5
    Thanks for the replies. Gonna run over to best buy and see if I can pick up 8.1. FedEx just dropped off the imac!!
     
  6. Traverse macrumors 603

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #6
    I have Windows 7 in a VM with 2 processors and 2GB of RAM.

    My school is offering a free copy of Windows 8 through one of my classes. I haven't used it and was curious to try it out. Does it run better than Windows 7 in your experience?
     
  7. ATC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    On my ageing but still running early '09 iMac (with 8GB RAM) I've had Windows 7 x64 installed and ran great. I recently removed W7 and installed Windows 8.1 Pro x64 (on same hardware) and noticed a pretty decent increase in general performance; my apps and everything in the OS itself seem to run noticeably faster and smoother. Interestingly my hardware is not officially supported to run any version of windows 8, or BootCamp 5 for that matter, but it's running both perfectly fine. :cool:

    So I would say, with all else being equal, definitely go with 8.1.

    On a side note; I personally hate Metro or Modern UI (whatever they call it), that monstrosity they call a start screen. On the recommendation of a friend, I installed Classic Shell 4 (link), it's a free app to replace the start screen with windows7-style start menu. In one word, it's awesome! It's a fully functional start menu (like in W7) and very customizable, letting you boot right into the desktop and disable charms etc... I highly recommend it.
     
  8. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #8
    Depends. While I prefer to have the latest OS installed, I'm downgrading to Windows 7 so I have more compatibility with software such as Solidworks, Surfcam, Mastercam, etc.

    On my desktop, I haven't upgraded or even thought of upgrading since all I use it for is games and nothing else so far.
     
  9. mintfan7200 macrumors member

    mintfan7200

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    #9
    Windows 7 is the best windows version released to date . Most people do not like windows 8 including me . I prefer a classic desktop . Windows 8 is still a good os though but only on a tablet in my opinion . Most people who use Windows 8 only do so because it came with there new computer .
     
  10. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #10
    how do you do that?
     
  11. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #11
    Google will spit out many ways of how to do it. Skip Metro Suite is just one of them or watch this video.
     
  12. mintfan7200 macrumors member

    mintfan7200

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    #12
    You can get the start menu back with this Program .
     

Share This Page