Windows 7 & Parallels 5.0

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by El Jobso, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. El Jobso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #1
    Started off my night installing Windows 7 using boot camp. I proceeded to install Parallels 5.0, which was directed to my boot camp partition. For whatever reason, I now have two icons on my desktop, "My Boot Camp" and "Windows 7." I also have the same number of Virtual Machines listed when running Parallels.

    Is there any reason as to why I have 2 icons or virtual machines? I figured by directing it to my original Windows 7 installation, it would just create 1 virtual machine, not 2. Can someone please clarify?

    Windows 7 Install is 32-bit.

    Currently running OSX 10.6.2.
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    "My Boot Camp" is what Parallels created itself. Technically, you're suppose to use that one and not create another one.

    You can go into Parallels' Virtual Machines list, located at the above bar "Window" and delete "My Boot Camp" and keep the other one.
     
  3. El Jobso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #3
    Yeah, I never went through the process of creating another Virtual Machine, they both just appeared when I finished going through the process.

    I won't be harming the boot camp installation by removing that virtual machine (or virtual hard disk file as it's called when you wan't to remove it)? It presents the options of moving the virtual machine to trash or keeping the file.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  4. El Jobso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #4
    My other small concern, is that after installing Windows 7 using boot camp and Parallels, my boot-up and shut-down durations have increased. Will repairing permissions have any effect on the increased durations?
     
  5. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #5
    Since I plan on having Parallels here later in the week.

    I am assuming I do boot camp first? I plan on using XP SP2 (OEM version) and dedicating 100gb to it. Since I have Office for the Mac the only reason to boot camp is for the odd windows only game and work (VPN/5250)
     
  6. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    In that case, I'd delete "My Boot Camp" and leave the other one.. or delete the other one and keep "My Boot Camp". Up to you.

    It shouldn't harm the boot camp partition because Parallels is only linking it. It's like telling where it is to find it and access it. As long as it's not running, it won't harm it.

    I have no idea. I never bothered repairing permissions since I never found a need for that. A slightly longer start up or shut down don't bother me at all since I never shut down or even boot up... it's almost always on or standby.

    Yes. Install boot camp first, reboot in to OSX, Install parallels and it'll automatically link it to the boot camp partition.
     

Share This Page