Windows 7 RAM issue

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by DarkRising101, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. DarkRising101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    I just installed a new 1tb hard drive in my macbook pro 2010 and some new RAM (8gb).

    And I created a bootcamp partition and installed Windows 7 64Bit.

    The problem is, it only had 2gbof RAM usable. Please help? :confused:
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
  3. Otaillon macrumors 6502

    Otaillon

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Québec
    #3
    Did you install the 32-bit or 64-bit version?
    Edit: shame on me for not reading original post
     
  4. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    I have the same problem on my 2011 quad-core MBP. 8 gb of ram installed and Windows 7 only sees 2.

    This is on a 32 bit version. Any ideas?
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Still probably a good idea to make sure that you actually installed 64 bit.

    32 bit just can't address thar much RAM because some of the 4GB address space is taken up by hardware. 2 GB is a bit extreme, but possible.

    B
     
  6. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #6
    I've never seen a Win 7 x64 system show that little. Seems very much like you've installed Windows 7 32 bit x86 which only has 2.18 Gb out of 4 or 8 Gig available -the ram needs the address space in both the Intel and Nvidia graphics cards despite only using the latter.
     

Share This Page