Windows 7: Retail or OEM?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by shady06, Feb 19, 2010.

1. shady06 macrumors newbie

I just received my new 27" i5 iMac a couple of days ago and I'm wanting to use boot camp for Windows 7. I'm new to the mac scene so my question is do you have to purchase the retail version of Windows 7 or can you use the OEM (system builders) version like is here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116754 for bootcamp?

Also, should I get the 32 or 64 bit version? I will mostly be using Windows 7 for gaming (steam). Thanks for the help!

2. rgarjr macrumors 603

rgarjr

3. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

4. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

Bengt77

If Windows was reasonably priced, it would sell better. I obliqued the word sell on purpose, because a lot of computer users use illegally obtained versions. Using the OEM System Builders version of Windows for yourself might be a tad shady, it is at least a lot more legal than downloading an illegal version and using that. Microsoft should be happy people for whom Windows isn't even their primary operating system are still willing to buy their software. Even when it's a not-completely-legal-according-to-their-EULA version.

5. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

That's basically the point of Ed Bott's blog post I linked to. However you still need to understand that it's not strictly within the letter or intent of the license before you leap. For all we know someday Microsoft may one day decide to enforce their license.

B

6. gregorsamsa macrumors 6502a

(Metamorphosing near) Staffs, 51st State.