Windows 7 Student Download

JD22

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 22, 2009
1
0
Hello,

I downloaded the student version of Windows 7 for $29.99 and it gave me a .exe download. I order the disc as well for an additional $13, is there any way I can install Windows 7 on my Mac using the .exe file? I have a copy of VMWare fusion, but it's not allowing me to pick up the .exe file.
 

pdpfilms

macrumors 68020
Jun 29, 2004
2,385
0
Vermontana
Hello,

I downloaded the student version of Windows 7 for $29.99 and it gave me a .exe download. I order the disc as well for an additional $13, is there any way I can install Windows 7 on my Mac using the .exe file? I have a copy of VMWare fusion, but it's not allowing me to pick up the .exe file.
I'm interested in this as well. Also, should us bootcamp users select the 32- or 64-bit version?
 

ravenvii

macrumors 604
Mar 17, 2004
7,583
489
Melenkurion Skyweir
I wish they would just give you a .iso file, it would make things much easier.

You can't run .exe files on OS X, period. You need Windows to run it.

VMWare Fusion can be used to run it, but you have to have Windows installed in it already, then run the .exe file within. You can't just run the .exe file *with* VMWare, since it's not designed to do that.
 

jlamb0

macrumors member
Oct 16, 2008
87
0
I believe this Student Speciel is for an "upgrade" to Windows 7, so I think Microsoft assumes we already have the ability to run a .exe.

I'm in the same situation with boot camp, but I'm just going to wait for my DVD to come in the mail. Hopefully it won't take too long to get it.
 

ltldrummerboy

macrumors 68000
Oct 15, 2007
1,535
9
The exe file is just a download manager. Once it finishes you end up with a folder that looks like it has the same contents as a Windows disc iso. I'm still trying to figure out what to do with it.
 

nanvinnie

macrumors regular
Feb 23, 2007
179
0
Again, the site linked shows you how to make a bootable ISO on a windows machine.
I think you need to have a valid copy of windows running in order to use the student UPGRADE download.

I have a valid copy of XP on bootcamp and i installed the win7 upgrade via fusion. It's up and running now.
 

rth231

macrumors regular
Jul 11, 2008
118
0
The exe file is just a download manager. Once it finishes you end up with a folder that looks like it has the same contents as a Windows disc iso. I'm still trying to figure out what to do with it.
It gives you a .exe download manager (Windows only, so I used my friend's Windows computer thinking it will give me an ISO) but once you go run that it downloads 3 files... two that are .box and one .exe (pointless for me, I'm not installing it on his computer!)

I'm currently installing Windows XP in VMWare (I have an old disk) and then I'm going to redownload the Student Windows 7 in the virtual machine and try to install it and see what happens. I'll report back.
 

balamw

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 16, 2005
19,075
963
New England
It gives you a .exe download manager (Windows only, so I used my friend's Windows computer thinking it will give me an ISO) but once you go run that it downloads 3 files... two that are .box and one .exe (pointless for me, I'm not installing it on his computer!)

I'm currently installing Windows XP in VMWare (I have an old disk) and then I'm going to redownload the Student Windows 7 in the virtual machine and try to install it and see what happens. I'll report back.
See the link I posted to get an ISO from the .BOX files.

This is exactly how you need to do it on a Mac. Have some version of Windows or Crossover to follow the recipe and get an ISO or USB key out of it in the end.

B
 

hamesh

macrumors newbie
Mar 30, 2008
27
0
London, GB
quick question. im about to place an order for windows 7 professional edition (student deal - £39) and am wondering what edition to buy, 32 or 64 bit.

i have an imac 24" 2.8 Ghz early 2008 model. will the 64 bit work? i only need the damn thing to view my timetable for university. stupid thing is on owa.
 

rth231

macrumors regular
Jul 11, 2008
118
0
See the link I posted to get an ISO from the .BOX files.

This is exactly how you need to do it on a Mac. Have some version of Windows or Crossover to follow the recipe and get an ISO or USB key out of it in the end.

B
I saw your link... Only problem is 14 pages of forum users having trouble and it doesn't work for them.

I'm trying the long way, installing an old copy of Windows XP and then rewriting 7 over it. We'll see...
 

cooolguy1982

macrumors newbie
Oct 22, 2009
4
0
quick question. im about to place an order for windows 7 professional edition and am wondering what edition to buy, 32 or 64 bit.

i have an imac 24" 2.8 Ghz early 2008 model. will the 64 bit work? i only need the damn thing to view my timetable for university. stupid thing is on owa.

I am also in the same situation. I have windows pc. (32 bit).

I have a Mac book too.

I want to buy win 7 pro - which version should i buy ti install win 7 on both machines.

32 bit or 64 bit.

Will 32 bit win 7 pro run on my Mac. if so will there be any impact?
 

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
9,218
1,584
quick question. im about to place an order for windows 7 professional edition (student deal - £39) and am wondering what edition to buy, 32 or 64 bit.

i have an imac 24" 2.8 Ghz early 2008 model. will the 64 bit work? i only need the damn thing to view my timetable for university. stupid thing is on owa.
the retail copies contain both. Are you being offered the choice?
 

hamesh

macrumors newbie
Mar 30, 2008
27
0
London, GB
Are you dual booting or virtualizing?

If you aren't running Windows with 4GB of RAM, you should go for the 32 bit. You'll save yourself driver compatibility headaches.
im planning on using bootcamp for a dual boot. i guess i will go with the 32 bit.

still not sure if the student upgrade deal is a full retail disc or an upgrade disc. but that's another issue.
 

ltldrummerboy

macrumors 68000
Oct 15, 2007
1,535
9
I was able to create an ISO image from the downloaded files and installed Windows 7 after I burned it to a disc.

BUT, my upgrade serial is not working. It seems that you need to install on top of an existing installation of Windows to be able to use the serial. I have 3 valid XP licenses, but no way to validate that fact other than by installing 7 on top of XP. What a nightmare.
 

Mac Rules

macrumors 6502
Jul 15, 2006
471
306
Switzerland
I was able to create an ISO image from the downloaded files and installed Windows 7 after I burned it to a disc.

BUT, my upgrade serial is not working. It seems that you need to install on top of an existing installation of Windows to be able to use the serial. I have 3 valid XP licenses, but no way to validate that fact other than by installing 7 on top of XP. What a nightmare.
I'm a little unsure, since I managed to create a bootable ISO on a USB stick and do a Custom install from that, where in fact I made it delete all my partitions and format first before installing.

Worked a treat.
 

Raider33

macrumors newbie
Jun 14, 2009
29
0
I was able to create an ISO image from the downloaded files and installed Windows 7 after I burned it to a disc.

BUT, my upgrade serial is not working. It seems that you need to install on top of an existing installation of Windows to be able to use the serial. I have 3 valid XP licenses, but no way to validate that fact other than by installing 7 on top of XP. What a nightmare.
Not sure if you've already solved it, but it sounds like you are running into the same issue I had. First you need to choose to do the custom install if you haven't. Simply skip the serial entry the first time round. It'll finish out the install as a "trial" or something of that nature. Once you get to the desktop, pull the cd out, then back in and start the install again, but this time choose to upgrade, this time it should let you enter your serial and finish up nicely :)

I had troubles because i was on 32bit vista and needed to clean install in order to upgrade to 64bit. After a bit of research and work arounds...worked like a charm :p

...and if that doesn't help, or isn't at all what your problem was....nevermind! :)
 

ltldrummerboy

macrumors 68000
Oct 15, 2007
1,535
9
You hit the nail on the head.

1. Custom install and skip serial entry step.
2. Upgrade install on top of custom install and enter serial.

It all seems so simple now that I know how to do it.