Windows 7 VM freezing on install

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MacModMachine, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    hi guys, i received my windows 7 pro copy today

    when i try to install it it seems to lock up my air solid as a rock have to reboot to get it back.

    anyone else experience this....?

    thanks
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    Where does it exactly "lock" up. It does take forever for the beginning "Extracting Files"
     
  3. MacModMachine thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    it locks up n extracting files....like the writes are locking the drive...but nothing works....left it for 2 hours and it did nothing.

    this is on both paralells and fusion.
     
  4. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    Whats the configuration on Parallels and/or Fusion?
     
  5. MacModMachine thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    1gb ram / 40gb hdd / external usb with win7 disc

    1 core.

    my windows 7 is 64bit version
     
  6. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    Okay, here's a suggestion that might or might not make any real difference.

    Set the allocated ram to 512MB (you can always allocate more later). Using the external USB drive, create a CDR via Disk Utility of the Windows 7 disk. Afterwards, point Parallels or VMWare Fusion to the CDR file instead of using an actual drive. Try reinstalling again.

    I know the "Extracting files" does take a while, it took me ~15 minutes via Boot Camp.
     
  7. PinkyMacGodess macrumors 68040

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #7
    I installed Windows 7 pro on my MBP and actually made the ram the max but kept the drive size low (default) and it installed pretty easily. It actually works which I found amazing. Using the latest Fusion and installing as a Vista OS choice. I was actually expecting more problems. I did try to install Vista after it first came out in the first version of Fusion and it blew up with a lot of video crashes and was slow. Now, not so bad. Usable...Well, as usable as Windows on a MBP could be.
     
  8. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #8
    Oh right.. you're using VMWare Fusion 2.0.6 probably... my bad, I'm in their beta program so I've been using 3.0 for a while now. Yeah, I agree with PinkyMacGodess. Try choosing Windows Vista x64 or Windows Server 2008 x64 and continue on.
     
  9. MacModMachine thread starter macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    making a iso of the dvd worked for me.

    thanks alot !

    weird it wont load from cd......

    oh well....!
     

Share This Page