Windows 7 XP Mode Questions

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SnowLeopard2008, Jul 4, 2009.

  1. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #1
    I'm currently in the process of developing for the NIOS embedded processor platform. The software development suite runs much better on XP (which I have) but I don't want to think that I cut off 20GB of my HD just for that. I want to justify that by installing Windows 7 and using XP mode for my development needs. Is this smart? For previous users of XP mode, is it fast enough? I'm not running any games, just Xcode-like stuff and maybe a simulator (probably not). Is XP mode suitable for me? What are your suggestions, use XP or Win 7?
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Sounds like you might be a candidate for TinyXP

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3
    I'm kind of hesitant to bust out Windows because my wireless network was attacked from the inside by a virus on my Mom's Dell. It shut down every few minutes. And I was thinking if I was bothering to install Windows, I might as well get the full Windows feel and not some 5+ year OS that has been modified and gutted. Thanks for helping organize my thoughts. It's kind of *early* so yea... 1am in the morning.

    For confirmation, XP mode does work with the RC release right?
     
  4. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #4
    7 RC works excellently and XP mode is ok. You download the Virtual PC software and XP Pro image from Microsoft for 7 RC. Like Parallels on the Mac it's brisk enough for general use but not really suitable for a flight sim which 7 should run fine.
     
  5. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    Thanks, it's probably a really light simulator and I probably won't use it. Did anyone encounter the odd "Choose CD Boot type" error while booting from the install disc and the keyboard+mouse doesn't work. I remember installing W7 on my MacBook and once it booted from the disc, it displayed a screen saying "Choose cd boot type" and options of 1 and 2. Except the keyboard+mouse didn't work.
     
  6. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    Help! I installed Winows 7 x64 and Boot Camp drivers from my restore discs. The 9600M GT isn't showing up, any solutions? I went to the restore disc and manually selected the installer package called "BootCamp64". Why isn't my 9600M GT showing up?
     
  7. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #7
    You have to have signed drivers for Win7 64 bit. There's a thread here which might help you.
     
  8. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    I got it. I just went back to my Boot Camp driver disc and manually selected the driver and installed it. W7 recognized that I had "new" hardware so now my index rating is 5.9, which I think is pretty high?
     

Share This Page