Windows 8 Installation: "A media driver your computer needs is missing"

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Swordylove, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. Swordylove macrumors 6502a

    Swordylove

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #1
    I need help. I'm using OS X 10.8.3 on late 2012 iMac and I've prepared everything using the Boot Camp Assistant (create bootable USB drive, download latest Windows support software, create partition).

    Then computer was able to boot from the USB drive, then I see the Windows logo, but during the setup, after I selected language, time, and keyboard type, this message pops up: "A media driver your computer needs is missing" (see attachment).

    I've tried booting again, using different USB ports, but to no help. Any idea what's going on? Heeeelp :(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Extract the Windows support files to a different USB drive. Tell Windows to look there when asked for the driver. Does that help?
     
  3. Swordylove thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Swordylove

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #3
    Which one is it?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    I have no idea, but usually Windows will just auto-discover what it needs.
     
  5. Swordylove thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Swordylove

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #5
    Then which ones should I copy to another drive? Certainly not everything, right?
     
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    You have to assume everything if you cannot make any other assumptions.
     
  7. thesqudge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    #7
    Did you ever fix the problem? I'm having a similar issue...
     
  8. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #8
  9. Swordylove thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Swordylove

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #9
    Nope.


    Thanks, I'll try that.
     
  10. Swordylove thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Swordylove

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
  11. Swordylove thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Swordylove

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #11
    Okay I solved the problem by downloading a different copy of the iso from a different source. Oh... I'm so happy! [​IMG]

    Anyway, I wonder how that worked because both iso's had the exact same name and size. But I'm not complaining. :cool:
     

Share This Page