Windows Activation ?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Washac, Mar 19, 2016.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Why after many many many months of using Windows 7 in Parallels and Bootcamp do I get a window open to ask me activate my product within two days or it will stop working ?

    I then follow the telephone process and follow the procedure I am to do, their system then tells that it cannot generate a number for me to use for my product and puts me through to somebody somewhere who cannot understand what I am saying or asking them ?

    AAAARRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH.

    What is this rubbish ?
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Uh, I believe a more detailed info could greatly increase the odd of helping you out in this issue.
     
  3. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #3
    But that is what happened, what else is there to say on this ?
     
  4. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    PHISING???????????
     
  5. howiest macrumors regular

    howiest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #5
    Sounds like your Windows 7 installation upgraded (perhaps unintentionally) to Windows 10?

    If so, welcome to the club.
     
  6. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #6
    Yea that is what I am/was thinking.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 19, 2016 ---
    No its not that, still Windows 7 :)
     
  7. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    No, Windows 10 upgrade (no matter how it happened) would not ever force you to activate within two days!

    Cheers
     
  8. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #8
    OK. You say your Windows has used for a few Months. However, even KMS activation would not ban your Windows use even after activation has expired. But, yeah, maybe things are different on Windows 7.

    Maybe, you can find the KMS client key for Windows 7 and install it on your machine to temporarily let your Windows useable. Then, you will have time to solve activation issues.
     
  9. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #9
    Did you change your hardware or change your version of Parallels?
    A hardware change can trigger a deactivation and Microsoft has cracked down on enforcing their license terms. Unless it's a full retail version of Windows they'll no longer issue you a new key on their 800 number.
     
  10. Washac, Mar 20, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2016

    Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #10
    --- Post Merged, Mar 20, 2016 ---

    Just done it to me again but this time activation was succesful so all good :)
     
  11. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #11
    OK. That would be fine. :) Congratulations.
     
  12. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #12
    Having to activate sporadically is a known problem with parallels, when your VM is also your boot camp partition.
     
  13. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #13
    Ah, thanks for that information.
     
  14. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    Not just parallels, Vmware does the same thing.
     

Share This Page