Windows and Remoting in?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rocketspark, Feb 19, 2008.

1. rocketspark macrumors newbie

Alright, so i'll preface this with that I am a designer. I do a lot of different things my full-time job deals mostly with websites. So I use a lot of Photoshop, Illustrator, but also a lot of CSS and HTML editing. That being said...

I grew up mostly using PCs so I am very comfortable on them but given my profession and schooling and all that I also am comfortable with Macs. As my primary machine I am using one of the new 24" iMacs. It's been great I have had no real problems at all <knock on wood>.

My work uses pretty much only PCs. We deal with IE6, IE7, FF, etc. They won't make the plunge for me to go to Apple. I frequently have to remote into work and thus use Remote Desktop (specifically the MS Remote Desktop Beta 2). It's been good and functional but really slow and choppy. I have a Dell laptop and previously even had a regular desktop PC and remoting in from those seemed to warrant better results. I am fairly new to VPN, and any other programs or ways to log into outside machines.

So now to the real point of everything I guess I have two problems/questions at hand. The first is I would like to remote into my work PC but not have it be terrible (slow/choppy/etc). And the second is installing windows via bootcamp or something similiar - i need access to some windows-based items (such as Internet Explorer 6-7 not to mention Firefox, Opera, etc).

If I can remote into work it solves both of those but I need things to be faster and a more solid experience. If there isn't a real solution (via other software or some special tweaks or something) would installing Windows and using that as a test bed and/or even remoting in from Windows offer some resolution?

Anyway, I am probably going to read this later and ask why I wrote so much. But just wondering if anyone else has any similiar experiences or feedback they can provide.