Windows Apps On Mac OS X (no emulation)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ravernomina, Nov 15, 2009.

1. Ravernomina macrumors member

Hello Everyone Im new to the Fourm and this is my first post here ^^.

Well i decided to share some awesome info to shove it down the windows users face ^^. Hardcore Windows Games Running On Mac OS X. A Program called WINE. Its not an emulator but runs the Windows API's. So no emulation. To get this program you need to have These Items

MacPorts
    Xcode
    X11

Once that is all installed open up terminal and type this code in

Snow Leopard
    Code:
    sudo port install wine-devel +universal
    for Leopard
    Code:
    sudo port install wine-devel
    once all done and installed to run any program simple type this into terminal

Code:
    wine /user/you/location of .exe/app.exe
    This will load/run/install the windows program and even run HD games only made for windows on mac OS X without moding/emulation/bootcamp. They will run at full speed or better. Good luck and enjoy ^^

2. roadbloc macrumors G3

roadbloc

Guess what WINE stands for. Win-Emulator. This is emulation. Meaning not everything will work. And they will not run at the native Windows speed.

Glad you posted this tho... I was under the impression that WINE was Linux only, and Crossover was the only way for Mac. :apple:

3. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

Completely incorrect on all fronts.

WINE is a recursive acronym and stands for WINE Is Not an Emulator. As the name suggests it is not an emulator :).

It implements the Win32 API as a native library.

Read this:

http://wiki.winehq.org/Debunking_Wine_Myths#head-7c9ecddfaff60d8891414b68d74277244e7109eb

4. roadbloc macrumors G3

roadbloc

I guess that's me proved wrong... I could have sworn it was emulation though. Ahh welll.... I take it all back. I suppose it's like the GNU is Not Unix business...

5. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

i believe its WINE for linux and DARWINE for mac.

6. maflynn Moderator