Windows based web designer - advice on Mac switch

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by BanjoKings, Jan 7, 2009.

1. BanjoKings macrumors newbie

Hello all. I'm a life long user of Windows, although I dabbled in a bit of early Mac usage back at school (16 years ago). I always thought Macs were good, but always got second hand equipment for free from family members so this made sense in my cash strapped days.

However, now I can afford it and my PC is getting slow. I also have an iPhone and AppleTV and so know the quality of Apple so I thought maybe it's time to convert. However I want to get this right so I need some advice on what setup/spec to get (whilst considering reducing cost) and maybe some testimonials from other windows to Mac converts.

I'm a web designer who codes, but also uses Adobe products to produce concept designs in Photoshop and illustrations in erm....Illustrator - so I need something snappy. I've already narrowed it down to a Macbook or Macbook Pro (as the iMacs weren't refreshed and portability would be nice) and possibly one of the new 24" LCD screens.

So which laptop do I go for? Because of price, it ranges from anything between the lowest spec 13" Macbook (and perhaps self RAM upgrade) up to the lowest spec 15" Macbook Pro (and perhaps self RAM upgrade).

So considering my work, what would you recommend? The better the testimonials, the more I'm likely to spend ;) (£1300 to £2000)

Also feedback from people who do my kind of work on the new 24" LCD screen will be great, or should I get a third party screen? Not too concerned about the laptop screen as that would just be used for leisure.

Cheers :)

2. emt8q5 macrumors member

Hi there,