Windows desktop won't communicate with Time Capsule when using WPA/WPA2

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by IncreaseMather, May 6, 2009.

  1. IncreaseMather macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #1
    I've been reading some of the past threads, but I'm still suffering here.

    My Windows XP desktop will connect flawlessly to my Time Capsule when I turn off all wireless security. I am even able to use Airport Utility on the desktop to change the wireless security to WPA/WPA2 Personal.

    However, it is never able to connect wirelessly to the Time Capsule when WPA/WPA2 Personal is being utilized. The Airport Utility cannot locate the Time Capsule when WPA/WPA2 Personal is utilized.

    Any suggestions? What's wrong with my Desktop (other than the fact that it's Windows)

    Thanks a ton!
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    Is your XP machine updated to Service Pack 2 or Service Pack 3? XP vanilla and XP Service Pack 1 prefer WEP or no security.
     
  3. IncreaseMather thread starter macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #3
    how would i check that exactly?
     
  4. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    Right click My Computer, go to Properties, it should be in the General tab along with your processor, memory specs.
     
  5. IncreaseMather thread starter macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
  6. chadamorrill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #6
    Do you have the latest drivers for your wireless card on the XP machine?
     
  7. IncreaseMather thread starter macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #7
    Latest drivers? I guess not. I haven't updated anything with my wireless card since I installed it a while ago. Would their website list the required drivers?

    I'm using a D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G510 Wireless card.

    Can you tell that I'm an EXTREME newbie?
     
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    There used to be a small file you could download from Microsoft that set up the WPA/2 algorithm on XP machines. Sorry but I don't have a link. I'd say go to Microsoft.com's support and type in WPA2 and see what comes up.

    Here it is :

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/917021
     
  9. IncreaseMather thread starter macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #9
    Thanks for the suggestion. I downloaded it and tried to run it, but I got a Setup Error message. It says that I currently have a Service Pack version newer than this one.
     
  10. IncreaseMather thread starter macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #10
    Would you suggest I use the "Driver Robot" program to update my D-Link drivers? I've never heard of this before. Can I trust it?

    http://driver-pro.com/related/engli...=CIHi3MihqJoCFQNbxwodCS2O1g&hit=1&adurl=15831
     
  11. chadamorrill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #11
  12. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #12
  13. IncreaseMather thread starter macrumors newbie

    IncreaseMather

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #13
    IT WORKED! IT WORKED!

    Thanks a ton you guys!

    (Now all I have to figure out is how to back it all up!)

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page