Windows games on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cowlesz, Jan 6, 2010.

1. cowlesz macrumors newbie

Hi. I'm new to Mac, so please go easy....

I want to be able to play games on my new macbook and most of them are only on PC.

So id there a way of playing windows games on a mac?

I've read on a few post here about Cider. Is it any good? There's quite a few complaints about it on here.

I know you can also use boot camp. But that looks like to much effort.

2. VPrime macrumors 68000

VPrime

Cross Over games is another solution. It can play some not all. I had some decent success with it.

Wine.. Basically what crossover is based off, but free and open source. No simple UI to get you going like crossover Games.. More tinkering is needed. But it is free.

Cider is more of a paltform that the publisher uses. It requires a bit of "modding" to work with other games.

Parallels5 can run some games, it is quite decent actually. BUT it is a virtual machine running windows as well, so it takes up a lot of resources and some more advanced games will struggle (or not play at all) on most machines.
    Though this is the same effort as bootcmap, so might as well just go that route.

Bootcamp.. This is your best solution, as you are just running windows natively. I know it sucks having to restart just to play a game.. But if there is no mac version of the game, this is usually the best way to go.

3. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Agreed. I do have a couple of games installed on the Mac side, but they're mostly on Windows. Restarting does have the added benefit of being something of an inconvenience, so my computer time is clearly delineated into "work time" (Mac) and "game time" (Windows). Booting up a game if I feel like killing a few minutes that will turn into a few hours is a lot harder if I have to restart to do it.

4. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

The short answer is no Windows games will not work on OSX. But there are ways around it.