Windows Hard drive on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by KJmoon117, Jun 17, 2007.

  1. KJmoon117 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #1
    I have a big problem with my hard drive. I'm planning onto switching to Mac but my PC died on me too soon and I need to be able to access two ATA hard drives. However my only computers are a laptop and a PowerMac Biege with Mac OS 10.2.8.

    Is there anyway for me to try and get a ATA to USB adapter or try to access my ATA hard drive (windows) on my Mac?

    Thanks, I'll provide more information if you need it.


    (PowerMac G4 w/ Mac OS 10.2.8.)
     
  2. KJmoon117 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #3
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Doesn't the PowerMac use ATA drives? Could you not hook it up directly?
     
  4. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #5
    you could always buy an external hard drive enclosure, then use the drive as an external backup drive afterward
     
  5. KJmoon117 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #6
    I tried but the disk doesn't show up on the desktop or anywhere else...



    Well it shows up on Disk Utility but I can't access any data on the drive, it only gives me options like erasing, partitioning, and stuff I shouldn't do to my drive.
     
  6. fairnymph macrumors 6502

    fairnymph

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #7
    I presume the files are in NTFS format? There are apps you can install that will allow you to mount and read and write from NTFS formatted drives. But it should still be mounting and allowing you to read. It's only writing and erasing that shouldn't be possible without some tweaking.

    If you want to be able to read and write NTFS fully, google ntfs-3g. You'll need to install macfuse tools first and then install ntfs-3g. I've posted links before in the forum, I can dig them up again...
     
  7. KJmoon117 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #8
    But isn't MacFUSE for OS 10.4+ ?

    And yep, I'm sure that my drive is NTFS.
     
  8. fairnymph macrumors 6502

    fairnymph

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #9
    Damn. You're right, it is. Sorry. :(

    I take it upgrading to Tiger isn't an option? I guess you don't even had read only options with NTFS in earlier versions of OS X.
     
  9. KJmoon117 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #10

    Buying anything isn't really an option... But I am buying an iMac in couple of weeks.

    So am I screwed or should I take over the drive to my friend's house or something?
     

Share This Page