Windows in Apple store?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by FoxDavis, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. FoxDavis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Puyallup, WA.
    #1
    I have to use windows for some of my business applications and I do not care for Windows anymore. I want to incorporate Mac's for everything so that would make me use VMware or Parallels so I can run windows.

    I wanted to see the Mac in action so I can learn how it really works and to make a decision to purchase a MBP. I called up a local apple store to see if they have windows on the mac so I can take a look.... Nope, sorry we don't have any windows in the store. I called Apple support, sorry we do not have "any stores" that show you how to use windows on the mac...

    Why not? If you boast about how good the Mac handles Windows, then why can't we see it in action? If I was able to play with it before I made a decision, don't you think it would have swayed me in their favor?

    I am pretty sure Apple employee's read these post, do you think it might be a good idea to have this in place?
     
  2. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #2
    They are wrong. I have been to Apple stores many a time and several (not all) of their macs had boot camp with windows on them.
     
  3. FoxDavis thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Puyallup, WA.
    #3
    Are you kidding? So are you able to really get in and start up windows or start up the Mac OS?
     
  4. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I have yet to see an Apple Store that has Windows on their machines. They have an OS X disk image that is reloaded every day, standard across all machines.
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    Our local Apple store has a few machines that run Windows under Parallels. I remember asking about it and they had to get a specialist who knew the password to start it up. It wasn't boot camp, but it would run windows fine.
     
  6. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #6
    Honestly, I cannot remember if it was Boot camp or if it was something like Parallels running on it. How they had it set-up is not something that I can comment on - it's been awhile since I looked for it and it was on a few of the machines.

    Not all stores may do this either..
     
  7. FoxDavis thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Puyallup, WA.
    #7
    I'm going back to the mall this weekend, I will for sure have time to play with it if they have it while the woman shops....
     
  8. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    Just ask politely and they will be helpful.

    I had no issues - they launched it and I played with it for a bit. It was on a 4gb iMac 24".
     
  9. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #9
    You also might want to strongly reconsider if you plan on using bootcamp. The drivers for bootcamp are almost useless compared to a Dell or HP... and it makes Windows on the mac feel god awful.
     
  10. IntelliUser macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Why does it matter?
    #10
    I don't find them particularly different from other standard manufacture drivers.
     
  11. valvehead macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    I don't either. The only issues I have are the oversensitivity of two-finger scrolling and the minimum screen brightness is a little too bright. Other than those, Windows 7 Pro x64 runs great on my MBP.
     

Share This Page