Windows is not genuine

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CodFos, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. CodFos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Centennial CO
    #1
    I keep getting a "This copy of Windows is not genuine" error. The thing is the copy is genuine but I bought it as a student discount directly from Microsoft. Other than dealing with Microsoft directly are there any ways I can remedy this?
     
  2. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #2
    GOOOOD LUCK!

    I've had the same issue, I've called Microsoft multiple times and their support is a bunch of idiots because even though I sent them copies of all my receipts and such (we got it free through college) they keep suggesting I bought it illegally (even though the ISO was downloaded straight from their site).

    Sorry that wasn't much help but I just wanted to let you know you're not alone!
     
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    Assuming that the copy is legit, was purchased from MS, phone the freephone installation number. Go through the process until you can get to a real person. Explain what has happened, the product key needs to be changed, and only they can do this. Proof of purchase and date to hand will help, they are bound to ask you for it.
     
  4. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #4
    Are you using virtualisation software like Parallels or Fusion as well as Boot Camp?

    Also, did you install W7 TWICE? Once for the install, and again to convince Windows it's an Upgrade? (Assuming you bought the Upgrade edition, and not the full version).
     
  5. chow184 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #5
    the student discount one is an upgrade version which technically means your license isn't valid to install on a macbook pro. which is why it's denying it
     
  6. wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #6
    This isn't it. They don't check to see what it is installed on.

    This is likely the case. If you installed via Bootcamp and then used VMWare to connect to the Bootcamp partition, you are basically creating a change in the system that forces it to re-register. You can get around this by calling the dialup number and registering it again via the phone system from the VM side.
     
  7. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    This. Go to the activation window and select phone activation. It's an automated process that takes about ten minutes or so.

    Once it took me to a live operator. If that happens don't start explaining about VM's or anything like that. You have only one installation and you installed a new hard drive. That's it and that's all. If you tell them anything else it'll turn into a clusterf$&@k. :D

    Good luck:)
     
  8. chow184, Apr 13, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012

    chow184 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #8
    actually they do... based upon the key you punch in during activation (upgrade license or full license), it will check for a previous version of windows, there's work arounds for this issue, because sometimes even if you're upgrading legitimately, it will still say it's not genuine. like on my desktop when I slicked it (had vista) and used my upgrade copy of 7.

    the student discount version of windows 7 pro is an upgrade version.
     
  9. wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #9
    First, you implied that they check to see what type of machine it was installed on and this is not the case, that was what I was correcting. What you posted above is correct, the student version is an upgrade only but, as you said, there are ways to get around it.

    Secondly, he never stated it was a student version, only that he used a student discount to buy it. I can get the full version at a student discount from my university as well.
     
  10. chow184, Apr 14, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012

    chow184 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #10
    It doesn't check the machine hardware... It checks to see if a previous version of windows is there so it can validate the upgrade install. Otherwise it will reject it if it's an upgrade that's trying to be clean installed.

    So what are you arguing?

    And he says he purchased his copy straight from MS with student discount. To my knowledge that'd be the upgrade version which would make sense for his copy not activating properly.
     
  11. wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #11
    OK, your first post made it sound like it checked the hardware. I credited you for that in my second post.

    My school has a way to buy directly from MS at a student discount. You can get a full version...

    Lastly, I no longer care....
     
  12. chow184 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #12
    Well me and my friend from a different uni can buy off of the ms student discount page but it only gives us the option to purchase "windows 7 pro. upgrade" and that's it.

    I wouldn't doubt other more computer oriented unis being able to buy directly with a larger selection.

    All I'm saying is, absent more info from OP, I could only assume he got upgrade version.

    Which would explain his problem
     

Share This Page