Windows Keyboard

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Twaize, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. Twaize macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #1
    I recently purchased a MBP 13", and I'm going to my fathers house to pick it up on Saturday. I have a windows keyboard here at home, and was wondering, will it work as well as an Apple keyboard? I like the Apple keyboards, but if my own works fine, I wouldn't mind holding it off a bit.

    Thank you
     
  2. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    It should work fine, most do, but some don't. You may have to map a few keys to get the same functionality.
     
  3. Twaize thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #3
    Is the mapping built into OS X, or do I need some 3rd party software? And if so, why suggestions?
     
  4. donuttakedonuts macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #4
    Why would you want to use a windows keyboard with your mbp?
     
  5. Twaize thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #5
    That and the fact that an Apple keyboard costs 77 USD.
     
  6. Twaize thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #6
    Anyone? It would be much appreciated.
     
  7. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Thirty seconds on Google turns up a bunch of results.

    There are third-party utilities to do this. However, mapping the basic functions (eg the :apple: command key) can be done natively in OS X through the System Preferences.

    Here's a tuaw article that discusses the native method and a couple of third party apps. http://www.tuaw.com/2008/09/11/mac-101-using-your-windows-keyboard/

    IMO, you should try things out with the keyboard to test what does (and doesn't) work before changing any of the settings.
     
  8. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #8
    Yes, a generic Windows key board will work. A couple of key symbols are different but functions are still available. I have done it in the past when I've had three Macs and only two Mac keyboards.

    As scienide09 suggests, plug one in and try it out.
     

Share This Page