Windows-like task manager?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by xavierpunkreno, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. xavierpunkreno macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #1
    Is there a task manager or something of the like that shows me all the processes running on my phone and not just the actual apps? My phone has been progressively losing more and more RAM and I want to see what's actually using it up, especially when no apps are running. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    I follow the philosophy of: Free ram is wasted ram. The iPhone does a very good job of ram management.
     
  3. tesilential macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Sbsettings "processes" toggle will show memory using apps, then close them 1 by 1 to take note of how much memory each one uses. Systemmanager app shows more detail, but it can't do any task management itself.
     
  4. xavierpunkreno thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #4
    Couldn't find systemmanager but I found systeminformation. It shows me what processes are running but unfortunately won't show how much RAM each process was taking up.
     
  5. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #5
    If you're on 4.1, you may want to look at the "I know why 4.1 slowed down our iPhones" thread, there's a big discussion about some sort of memory leak related to having both pictures and camera open at the same time, or something to that extent.
     
  6. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    Install "top" from within Cydia Installer. Then, log into the iPhone via an SSH shell and use this command:

    top -o rsize

    To find "top", you will need to be setup as a "Developer" in Cydia. To do this, go to:

    Cydia --> Manage --> Settings --> Developer (No Filters)

    S-
     
  7. xavierpunkreno thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #7
    I don't use SSH. I use iPhone browser. I was hoping for something a little more everyday-user-savy. I'm guessing there's nothing at the moment?
     
  8. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #8
    If you want to do stuff like this you need to get comfortable in the Unix shell on your iPhone.

    S-
     

Share This Page