Windows Media Player for os x?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Ruffian829, Jul 28, 2008.

1. Ruffian829 macrumors 6502

I was trying to listen to the radio through a website and it wont play on my mac (I'm pretty new to macs!) so I clicked "help" and it said that I needed to download windows media player for mac, so i went to the website in the link and I downloaded the windows media player files for quicktime, but when I tried the website again I still couldn't listen to it (a yellow bar comes up at the top of the screen that says I need plugins, but when I search for them it says no suitable plugins found...). So I tried downloading the windows media player for mac os x and something downloads, when I click on it to open it says "unable to expand windows media 3.stix - stuffit archives are not supported.

what do I need to do to get this to work?
    I know when I brought the mac to apple support for trouble with Safari and he downloaded Firefox he had to download it, and then moved the file somewhere for it to work (the applications folder maybe? I dont remember)
    am I missing a step somewhere in here like that?? - is it possible to get this to work with just the files for quicktime (the less I have to download I assume is better)??

2. bashveank macrumors member

3. Ruffian829 thread starter macrumors 6502

I dont believe so... is that what I need? where can I find it?

4. Dany M macrumors 6502

5. Neil321 macrumors 68040

Neil321

yep here's a link

6. Ruffian829 thread starter macrumors 6502

I just checked I actually have downloaded Flip4Mac... I dont know when, Its just appeared on my desktop.

7. Ruffian829 thread starter macrumors 6502

Ok, so I downloaded and installed the Flip4Mac, but the website still wont play- do I need to put this download somewhere for it to work when I try the website? do I need to like, open it, and then try the website??

8. Ruffian829 thread starter macrumors 6502