Tablets Windows metro apps not working and Virus/Firefox!! HELP!

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Billy95Tech, Apr 20, 2015.

  1. Billy95Tech, Apr 20, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2015

    Billy95Tech Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    #1
    Today i just found out the some of the Windows metro apps are not working and when i try to start them up and it immediately closes and goes back to the start sceen.

    And each time i reboot my Windows 8 tablet in the desktop opening up Firefox it keeps asking me to choose Firefox as your default browser and i keep saying yes but it keeps happening.

    I think i have a virus on my Windows 8 tablet but my Anti Virus(Avast, Avira) did not find any viruses.


    How do i fix this and the Firefox default browser thing???
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2

    You likely don't have a virus. Very few windows users get virus's these days. What people get infected with is 'malware' .... The anti-virus software is next to useless these days and can be simply replaced with 1. common sense and 2. malwarebytes anti-malware.


    * optional - boot into safemode

    1) Download the free version and install.
    https://www.malwarebytes.org/mwb-download/
    2) Let it update.
    3) Scan.
    4) Remove the malware.

    Simples.
     
  3. khha4113 macrumors regular

    khha4113

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #3
    Actually, anti-virus softwares nowadays also have anti-malwares, so if he's already had anti-virus (Avast is one of the best), there is no need to install another anti-malwares.

    ----------

    You can try to refresh it.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/restore-refresh-reset-pc
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Considering the amount of computers I fix for malware each week with every antivirus software under the sun installed - I would say my own experience is contrary to that.

    Downloading malwarebytes free - running it is infinitely better option than having to factory restore as Billy has already been down that road before with this device.
     
  5. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    I wonder if eventviewer would tell him why the apps are closing.

    I don't have FF installed on my Surface, but you can check to see if FF is set to run when the computer boots, I know Chrome is set to, plus Windows tries to be helpful and reopen some applications if they were open on reboot.

    The startup items are listed in Task Manager now and you can disable them from there.
     
  6. Billy95Tech, Apr 28, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015

    Billy95Tech thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    #6
    Ok i downloaded the Malwarebytes and it scanned and at the end it did not find any viruses or anything like that and it actually made ALL of my Windows (even the default)metro apps stop working and immediately closes and goes back to the start sceen Now i can't use the video player Windows Metro app because of this!!!!

    And every time i boot up and open Firefox it keeps asking me to choose Firefox as your default browser and i keep saying yes but it keeps happening.

    And sometimes when i boot up my Windows 8 tablets there is a cursor in the of the sceen and before the User login sceen it goes away and i have not have my USB mouse plugged when i see it.


    And it is becoming slower everyday opening firefox and other apps are not loading not as fast anymore and when i do a task it lags for about 2 seconds and it proceeds to do the task, it is annoying sometimes especailly when i do some video editing/making Youtube videos.. :/


    What should i do?? Should i factory reset my Windows 8 tablet again or not?? I don't really want to do that again....

    I really don't know what to do..... :/ :/
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Malwarebytes shouldn't cause issues like that at all.

    But since your issues are getting worse I'd do a factory reset at this stage - it seems lesser of two evils at this stage.
     
  8. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    He can try a refresh first, see if that helps (it keeps accounts and apps). If not, then a reset is next.
     
  9. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    Oh yes I forgot windows 8 has the refresh option now.

    Do that first indeed :)
     

Share This Page