Windows not appearing on option restart

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ktbills, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. ktbills macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #1
    I just installed Windows XP on a boot camp partition on my MacBook. All seems fine except that holding down the option key on restart only gives me the option to launch Leopard, not windows. I can get the Windows partition to launch by setting it as the default start up system (from either the mac or windows partition) but not by using the option key on restart.

    Any suggestions on how to fix this? Should I just reformat the boot camp partition and start over? If I ignore this problem, am I asking for trouble down the road?

    Thanks, Ken
     
  2. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #2
    Is your EFI/Firmware up to date? (null statement if you have a new imac)

    Pressing the correct key? In my case (windows keyboard) it's the ALT key. You need to press it immediately after the startup "chime" and I romp on it two times, then hold it until the menu appears.
     
  3. ktbills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #3
    More details

    Sorry for not giving enough detail in my original post. I am using a new MacBook, bought in November 2007, running Leopard. Leopard is up to date. I installed Windows XP pro in a 32 GB FAT partition using boot camp. The alt/option key is the same on my MacBook, and I seem to be accessing the right boot camp function when I hold it down on re-starting because the restart stops and I see my Macintosh HD with an arrow under it., but no Windows option (or any other option). As I said before, I can get to the Windows partition by selecting it as the default operating system and then restarting.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    Im not 100% certain but if its a SR macbook it maybe something to do with your xp partition being FAT32 try a search
     
  5. ktbills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #5
    I actually have been searching around and found in the apple support forum about 10 or so others with the same issue in Leopard, some of which had used NTSF formatting, etc. The consensus seemed to be it was an issue Apple would have to resolve eventually.
     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    Only trying to help my friend
    try searching around on these forums there is a thread somewhere about this issue
     
  7. ktbills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #7
    Your advice was good and much appreciated. :) So far, though, I have not found anything helpful in this forum on that particular issue. And in the other various forums on the web, as noted above, there seem to be a number of Leopard users who encountered the problem and have not yet been able to fix it.

    Given the way I use my MacBook, it is not a big deal for me, since I use the Mac OS almost exclusively, so long as it does not foreshadow problems down the line. Guess I will have to wait and see.

    Thanks again.
     
  8. ktbills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #8
    Now I found it

    Guess my searching could use some help, because now I found the threads you were mentioning when I searched on SR and FAT -- of course, I didn't know what SR was or whether I had one, but I do.

    I suppose I may try to reformat in NTSF and reinstall Windows. Although I did run across one post on another forum that claimed the same problem under NTSF.
     
  9. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #9
    That's ok i knew id read about it somewhere on here,oh its NTFS by the way
     
  10. codenameconer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #10
    I have the same problem

    I am also experiencing this problem with my XP Pro FAT32 partition. I'm on a new 2.2 GHz Core 2 Duo MacBook.

    One thing that did occur to me, however, is that we could leave our startup disk set to Windows and then hold down the Option key every time we want to boot into OS X. Not the best solution, of course, but a solution nonetheless. You wouldn't have to boot into Mac OS X every time you wanted to start Windows.

    Maybe they'll throw us a Bootcamp bone at Macworld Expo, eh?
     
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11
    yep thats a option but its nice to have the choice at boot up
     
  12. AVR2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #12
    You don't have to reformat and reinstall to convert a FAT32 partition to NTFS. There's a utility built into Windows that will do it for you while leaving your Windows data intact.

    See here, or just Google "Converting FAT32 to NTFS". It's NTFS, though, not NTSF.
     
  13. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #13
    Not that i need to but cant the above be done just by right clicking on the c drive in my computer then format?(i know its a b*****K if NTFS to FAT32)
     
  14. ktbills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #14
    So... before i reformat to NTFS, has anyone with the option restart problem with a FAT boot camp partition on an SR MacBook actually reformatted to NTFS and found that it fixed the problem?

    And is the quick way of reformatting to NTFS from FAT just as good as reformatting to NTFS from scratch and reinstalling windows?
     
  15. wxgeek96 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #15
    I was having the same problem -- had chosen FAT32 so I could write to the windows partition from the OSX side. But I will give that up if I can get the option key working.

    ktbills -- did you try converting to NTFS? did it work?
     
  16. fazox macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    #16
  17. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #17
  18. ktbills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #18
    Wish me luck

    I will be trying this weekend. I will let you know how it works out.
     
  19. wxgeek96 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #19
    I did manage to get this to work last night, although I was a bit concerned when the macbook kept rebooting throughout this process. Thanks for the help.
     
  20. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #20
    Have a look at BootPicker (see my signature) - it is a very nice startup Boot selector (and free!).
     
  21. ktbills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #21
    Worked for Me

    I converted my bootcamp partition from FAT32 to NTFS, and now the bootcamp partition shows up as a choice on an option restart.

    I would've prefered the FAT32 format so the Mac side could write to the bootcamp partition, but that's the way it goes.
     
  22. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #22
    try giving fusion a go, glad it worked out
    http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/
     
  23. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #23
    If you would like to read/write files from the OSX side on an NTFS partition, consider searching google for "NTFS software OSX" - I'd Google it here - but it comes up with hebrew and I can't read it. (currently in Israel)

    Or search one of my posts - I answered this a couple times in the past, but stlil can't remember the name of the program.

    Anyhow - there are a couple of programs that allow you to do this.

    And VMWare or Parallels are another option. (since getting Parallels - I rarly - if ever - use bootcamp)

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page