Windows NT 4.0 on an iMac G3

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by TSE, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #1
    I want to start a small "project" just for fun, and will keep a journal in this thread.

    I am going to attempt to install Windows NT 4.0 on an iMac G3 with a 333 mhz processor, 64 MBs of RAM, 6 GB HD, and an ATI Radeon 128, 6 MB Card.

    If anyone wants to offer help, ideas, suggestions, or maybe upgrades for my hardware, I would be very appreciative! :)
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
  3. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #3
    I plan on installing it natively, this is probably not going to be an easy or clean cut process but I am willing to test it and try and hack it a little to make it work.

    Like I said, this may be totally stupid and a waste of time, if it is someone tell me but for now I am going for it.
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    I am so confuse on this.... as I have heard many stories on it.
    Yes, I know there is a PPC version of NT 4.

    But:
    - is it 'Apple / Mac" compatible? (i.e.. Open Firmware, PPC 60x, G3, G4...)
    - isn't there a \PPC\ dir on the NT 4 CD already, or is this just on a specific build..???

    It would be so fun, to do what the OP suggests.... NT 4 on a Mac, natively. :cool:
     
  5. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Yeah, cos it would be totally practical to put an obsolete OS which is the business equivalent of Windows 95 on your Mac.
     
  6. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #6
    this is interesting.. would like to see what happens..

    @roadbloc, i doubt he's going to be using it for anything other then to go "look, windows on a PPC Mac!" and to see what all is required to do it. Its the same as running Vista on a PS3. Its really cool and can impress your friends, but its not practical.
     
  7. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    I said "fun".

    Many things in life are fun and not practical. More often than not, something is either fun or practical.
    The idea is to have this OS running (NT 4) on a computer you won't be using "practically" anyway, so it's for fun.. hobby.. a laugh.. :rolleyes:
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    As I recall, NT4 was designed for PReP boxes, i.e. not Macs.

    I think the PPC folder was removed from later versions of NT4 e.g. NT4SP4 and beyond, so if your install CD is a later one it won't have any PPC code on it.

    EDIT: What do you know. Looks like QEMU supports PReP somewhat. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QEMU#PREP

    B
     
  9. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #9
    Help needed.

    I am going to a used software store tomorrow that lets you test and see the contents of the software on a test PC before buying it.

    Do you guys know where I could find the PPC folder on the Windows .NT install disc? Thanks! I plan on getting this started on Saturday.

    I have already gotten a collection of an ATI Radeon Rage 128 drivers, USB 1.1 drivers, and am looking for ethernet drivers just incase it doesn't work right away.

    And to whoever said how impractical this was... all I can say is this: It's for the lulz. :D
     
  10. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #10
    It will be in the folder marked ppc if I remember rightly. I also remember vaguely that the CD is not self booting and you will need to create ARC floppies to install a bootloader partition onto the hard drive. Not sure how QEMU will handle this, but good luck.
     
  11. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #11

Share This Page