Windows NT 4.0 PPC on a Mac - Anyone?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by im_to_hyper, Jan 5, 2015.

  1. im_to_hyper macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Glendale, California, USA
    #1
    Has anyone been able to successfully install Windows NT for PowerPC on one of their older PPC Macs? I'm curious to see if it has been done / can be done -- and if so: does it have something akin to Rosetta for transcoding x86 - PPC on the fly?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #3
    Blame Apple for not using Intell :p
     
  4. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    I've not attempted it, but picked up a copy of NT 4.0 a while back specifically for this reason.

    I did some internet searching, and as per the interwebz NT 4.0 requires a BIOS to work correctly. Essentially the only PPC computers it will run on are the couple of IBM workstations and Thinkpad laptops that were made in the mid-90s that had PowerPC processors.

    I have to admit that I did get really excited when I found the NT 4.0 install disk at Goodwill and saw the words "PowerPC" on the install disk.
     
  5. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #5
    Needs ARC to boot from. Macs have Open Firmware instead. There is next to no software to run on the PPC or MIPS versions. Only the Intel or Alpha flavours are worth bothering with.
     
  6. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Probably not worth it since the PPC edition of NT 4.0 didn't have that many apps written for it. Your Mac would be even more dated on the software side.
     
  7. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    NT4 required a PReP reference design machine. IBM and Motorola made compatible machines, Apple (in the dark Spindler days) did not.
     
  8. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #8
    As with everyone else - it cannot be done. Wrong firmware/bootloader.

    NT for PowerPC was very short-lived, introduced in NT 3.5, discontinued with NT 4.0 SP3. I have it running on my PowerPC ThinkPad, but there just isn't any useful software for it.

    One nice bonus, it does run 16-bit x86 software via emulation, appearing completely native. So I do have Microsoft Office 4.1.2 and Internet Explorer 5 running on mine. (The Windows 3.1 version of IE5, not the Windows NT/95 version of IE5.)

    Similarly, Mac OS doesn't run on my PowerPC ThinkPad - just the wrong bootloader for Mac OS.
     

Share This Page