Windows on Mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Macgic, Dec 31, 2007.

  1. Macgic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #1
    Ok i just installed windows xp on my Imac (last years model) and i am trying to install software. but i get this window that says "found new hardware wizard" then takes me through trying to install the cd-rom. do i have to do this to install my software?
     
  2. barijazz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #2
    My advice to you. Don't use windows. Use VM Ware to run windows apps on your mac at native speed.
     
  3. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #3
    whats that?
     
  4. Parsec macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    N53 E004
    #4
    A virtual machine is a program that acts as if it is a computer, fooling an operating system to install on it. This technology has become quite useful these days, but still don't run Apps on native speed. It will always cost you system performance on both ends (The host OS and the guest OS). You need to share memory and processor time. Although these days the guest OS can directly access the processor, it still needs to share this resource with the host.

    Now that you know what that is. You need to install the Bootcamp drivers that you can burn with Bootcamp Utility. It will install all the necessary drivers for you in Windows. Then you can install anything you want. Also, if you're trying to do new games, run them through bootcamp. If you're trying to do other software, (older 3D games or just games and office kind of apps) you can run it in a VM. You can also install via Bootcamp and access start the Bootcamp Windows OS through the VM, never leaving OSX. Although this limits the performance. This is the best situation, since you don't have to install Windows twice (and use twice the disk space).

    The best virtual machines available for OSX are:

    Parallels Desktop and VMWare Fusion.

    These are not expensive pieces of software and either one of them is good.
     
  5. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #5
    i have tried using parrallels but it didnt work and i was strongly discouraged from using it. i have it though. i dont care as long as it works.....
     
  6. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #6
    If i do have to do this installation can somebody give me a waklthrough on what steps need to be taken. thanks:)
     
  7. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #7
    Macgic, after you use Bootcamp to setup the Windows partition on a new Mac, or a newly formatted hard disk, you install Windows. Once that is done, you boot into Windows and insert the Leopard install DVD as all the necessary Windows drivers are on that disk. The Bootcamp (under Windows) program will load and begin to install the drivers that Windows is looking for. Once that is complete, after 2 reboots if I remember correctly, Windows should have all the drivers it requires.

    Just to clear up some of the questions you posed:

    When to use Bootcamp:

    1. You wish to play games and require accelerated graphics i.e. games that require DirectX 9.0c or older (Windows XP supports up to 9.0c)

    2. You have a specific Windows program that requires accurate timing on USB or serial ports i.e. midi based or controller software for external hardware machines (this is rapidly being addressed by Virtualization software vendors)

    When to use VM Fusion/Parallels:

    1. You wish to play games and the requirement is only for DirectX 7 or DirectX 8.0 or with no full graphics acceleration i.e. some of the older games like Duke Nukem 3D or even Starcraft

    2. You wish to run a Windows application but remain in OS X and/or move files seamless between the two operating systems.

    Virtualization these days has been optimized to the point where a performance hit of 5% or less is common and that should be so small as not to concern you. The Intel Core architecture has VT on the chip to support virtualization.

    Keep in mind, this is virtualization, NOT emulation and NOT translation. Dont let others tell you otherwise.

    My recommendation for virtualization on OS X these days is with VMware's Fusion, however Parallels is just as capable.

    Let me know if you have any other questions.
     
  8. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #8
    no actually you nailed it. All i have to do then is put the leopard cd in.....and you actually answered some other questions. :D
     
  9. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #9
    okay one more question and this may sound farfetched but my brother just got a game for Christmas (knights of the old republic) and it worked on tiger but now on leopard it is failing....so here it is can i have tiger using bootcamp??:confused:
     
  10. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #10
    Bootcamp support with Tiger has ceased as Leopard is the release version. But, that shouldnt have any effect on Windows. What I mean is, if Knights of the Old Republic ran on Windows under Bootcamp that was created with Tiger...(correct me if I'm not understanding correctly) then it will run the same on a Bootcamp created partition with Leopard.

    What Bootcamp does is allow Windows XP Sp2 to boot on an Intel Mac which has EFI (new form of BIOS). Bios is used to kickstart the machine and provide hardware support to the operating system. Windows XP knows about BIOS, but does not support EFI which is what the Intel Mac's have. So Bootcamp presents a 'translated' BIOS to Windows XP, but once XP is starting up and loading its own drivers, Bootcamp has done its job and Windows XP is running on the Mac just as it would on any IBM compatible/clone box with the same hardware.

    I've oversimplified that explanation and you dont need to understand the process necessarily, just know that once Windows is running, its running native. So.. if Knights ran on your machine under Windows XP when you had Tiger, it will run the same with Leopard.

    When in Bootcamp, forget that you're on a Mac, and treat Windows just like a Windows machine. There maybe a patch required to allow Knights to run that was put on originally perhaps?
     
  11. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #11
    Ok, now that I've reread your post :)p) I believe that Knights was running on Tiger, not Windows, is that right?

    I'll see if I can hunt up a patch or ask my buddy who's a Knights/Jedi addict.
    Try Googling for '"knights of the old republic" leopard patch'
     
  12. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #12
  13. Macgic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #13
  14. mail4asim macrumors member

    mail4asim

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #14
    Any kind of virtualization software runs windows good.. but NOT at native speed. Try using some serious software like AUTOCAD running virtually and you'll understand what I am talking about. None of the engineering apps runs at native speed..
     

Share This Page