Windows on MacBook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by JWBII, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. JWBII macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #1
    I don't particularly want windows on my Mac computer but it seems a program I want called blue beam is only available for windows. I don't want to have to carry around 2 laptops just for one program so I'd like to see if this is even an option worth trying.

    I have a 2013 Mac air base model

    128 ssd

    1.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5

    4gb memory

    Is this model even worth trying this with or will it be entirely too limited to try. I am on a budget so if upgrading to a larger model is the only option I'll need to start planning. If it's possible to do then I'd like to do it. I'm ok with giving up a little space but not if it will slow my computer down. I put most all of my filed on a sad card so as not to take up space so no problems there. I won't compromise when it comes to the speed of my computer as it is now. I'm happy with the performance.

    Any advice and suggestions are appreciated. If you have done this please share your experience. I'm not a tech savvy guy when it comes to installing things but I can get around my computer well enough to get things done I think. I'll probably sound like an idiot with some of my questions so I hope you'll forgive me lol.
     
  2. z31fanatic macrumors 6502a

    z31fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    Mukilteo, WA USA
    #2
    Windows will work fine on your Air. The only think I'd be concerned about is the storage space of your Mac. Windows 7 with all the updates takes about 40GB of space. Windows 8.1 is lighter and takes about 25GB of space.
    You can use Bootcamp to run it natively or use Parallels to run it in virtual environment. With Parallels, you don't need to reboot your Air to get in Windows. You can run OS X and Windows at the same time. But your Air having only 4GB of RAM can be a problem to run both at the same time.
     
  3. mutaji macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    #3
    with bootcamp there won't be a problem right?
     
  4. z31fanatic macrumors 6502a

    z31fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    Mukilteo, WA USA
    #4
    No problem with Bootcamp. You may or may not care that you have to reboot to go into Windows.
     
  5. mutaji macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    #5
    rebooting will work if windows will work fine.
     
  6. JWBII thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #6
    I'm assuming that this will partition my drive and I will have to choose how big to make it or does it do it automatically? If I do it myself I'd need to find out how much space windows as well as any additional programs I want to put on windows will require right?
     
  7. cerberusss macrumors 6502a

    cerberusss

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    With just 128 GB SSD, Parallels is vastly preferable. Otherwise, you'll have to partition enough disk space for Windows that you won't get into problems. Which means a bit of a buffer, and this will cost you dearly on such a small SSD.

    I would either get Parallels or if that really isn't possible, boot Windows off of an external SSD:
    http://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...ws-7-on-external-drive-and-boot-it-from-a-mac
     
  8. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #8
    Can't you find an alternative which run on Mac? It will save you a lot of trouble.. and a windows license..
     
  9. anotherscotsman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I ran Windows on a 2012 Air (4/128GB) under VirtualBox with no problems for a couple of years - keep your Windows installation lean and store "data" on an external drive (flash or HDD) to minimise impact on your SSD. Another option is to try and get a copy of Windows XP - a very small footprint (both disk and RAM) with relatively low overheads. I have used VirtualBox for a few years to host Windows. VirtualBox is free (you still need a Windows licence of course) and although perhaps a little less user-friendly than Parallels, I find it very stable and more than fast enough - I run Photoshop CS3 with no issues.
     
  10. JWBII thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #10
    If there is an alternative program that offers all that blue beam revu has I'm all for it but I have yet to find one. I work in the construction field and it will edit plans as well as find a distance if I want. PDF editors don't offer a measuring tool that I know of.
     
  11. JWBII thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #11
    Do you know if I install windows on an external drive will that allow me to install blue beam on the external drive as well. I'd like to be able to do that.
     
  12. charlyham macrumors regular

    charlyham

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #12
    I have the same 213 air base model with Windows7 in bootcamp. when you run the bootcamp install you will be prompted if you want to keep the 50/50% division or you can use the slider to increase/decrease that amount. I chose to use 30gb for Windows and 90 for OSX. With Office 2007 installed on the Windows side, I have 2gb free, which is OK with me as I only use Windows once in a great while and I wanted as much disk space for OSX as I could get. If you think you would like more room in Windows you can adjust that slider when installing. I would not try to use less that 30gb as a bootcamp partition if you plan on installing other software besides Office. I also have a "NiftyDrive" with a 64gb Samsung EVO Micro SD card in the SDcard slot for additional storage. I formatted it as exFat so it can be used from either OS.
     
  13. JWBII thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #13
    I have office for Mac already installed. I'd only be installing blue beam, no more than that.
     
  14. charlyham macrumors regular

    charlyham

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #14
    Then I would suggest using 40gb partition for Windows so you will have room for all Windows updates to come. Without Office installed on the Windows partition you will have more free space that I currently have if you decide to use a 30gb partition. With my 30gb partition, I am soon going to run out of disk space for future updates.
     
  15. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #15
    I did a quick search for pdf measuring and ended up with PDF studio
    https://www.qoppa.com/pdfstudio/
    How well it matches Bluebeam Revu (which I guess is the product we are actually discussing) features I can't say, it does have measuring. You can download and try the free trial.

    If you still end up, having to run windows, with the specs of your machine in mind, I think you would be happier to go all in on windows, instead of juggling with two operating systems.
     
  16. JWBII thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #16

    Thanks for that suggestion. I just tried the measuring tool in pdf studio. It is way too inaccurate for me to use in my field unfortunately.
     
  17. MarvinHC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Shanghai, PRC
    #17
    I have it on my 11" Air (2013) with 4GB RAM and Win7 works fine in Bootcamp. There is one big drawback though: the touchpad is very jerky, the drivers are not great by any means. Not sure if this is the same when using Parallels or VirtualBox but I didn't try since the 4GB RAM might be a bit tight there.
    In terms of partition I have offered Windows 50GB in order to install office and have a bit of headroom. I hardly ever use it though, I only need it for some banking software that does not exist for Mac and very rarely in Office - the Mac Office is simply not the same.
     
  18. vista980622 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #18
    Why not do a Windows XP install in Parallels Desktop?
    It is light-weight (runs great under 1GB of ram), saves battery life and storage space (about 4GB to 5GB with Office 2010 installed), and should be compatible with Blue Beam.
     
  19. MarvinHC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Shanghai, PRC
    #19
    The drawback being, that XP does not receive any security updates anymore. I am no saying XP is bad but that is something to consider!
     
  20. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #20
    For the record: I encountered unsolvable problems with bootcamp.
     
  21. vista980622 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #21
    What about disconnecting the virtual machine from the internet?
    That way, you can still access necessary programs and files, but the attack surface is dramatically reduced and OP should be safe :)
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #22
    I don't know your workflow, but I wonder why it is not CAD-drawings. Autocad exist for Mac and their is also quite a few CAD-viewers in app store. You might even be able to open/insert a pdf document into autocad. I can't check because I don't have it installed anymore, but I know it works with pictures, because I have used AutoCad to do measurement on photos.
     
  23. stockscalper macrumors 6502a

    stockscalper

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    Area 51
    #23
    I run Windows 7 via Parallels on a 2010 MacBook Air (core duo processor) and it runs very well.
     
  24. Beachguy macrumors 6502a

    Beachguy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #24
    I use VMware Fusion and it runs very well on my 2011 Air.
     
  25. JWBII thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #25

    I had turbo cad and it wouldn't accept pdf files. My impression was that auto cad was very expensive and would be out of my budget and I'm not gonna buy it just to find out it doesn't work for what I need.

    I am a plumber and the plans I have access to are PDF only, never cad.
     

Share This Page