Windows on macbook

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jjj23, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. jjj23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #1
    I bought a Macbook Air with the intention of running XP or Vista on it occaisonally. I need to use the IE and would use Bootcamp to load Windows.

    I am totally new at this and I've done some research on this but can't find an answer for this. Before I go out and spend a couple hundred on new software, I want to find out if I can use Vista that came pre-loaded with my HP laptop. I don't have the CDs but they are saved on my laptop's hard drive and I can burn a copy of it. Will this work?

    Also does a bootleg copy of XP SP2 work with Bootcamp?

    Are there any other options besides buying XP/Vista new or used?

    EDIT: I have a Macbook Air, which does not have an optical drive, would this be a problem in installing XP? I am assuming I can use RemoteDisk to install XP, right?
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    If you are in College, and studying Engineering or Computer Science, you're school likely has a system with M$ for you to use Windows for free. Legally, you cannot use your HP Disc.

    Also, you don't need Windows to run IE on a Mac (which I would use through Parallels or VMWare Fusion so you don't have to restart each time), you can use http://www.kronenberg.org/ies4osx/

    TEG
     
  3. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #3
    No... you cant because of two reasons....

    1. It would be piracy... your HP only came with a single user license copy.
    2. Most Vendors (I guess HP included) lock their OEM install disks so that they only run on specific hardware!

    What do you mean by 'bootleg'?
     
  4. jjj23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #4
    IE on a Mac won't work for me, because I also need to use a program along with IE which only works on Windows.
     
  5. jjj23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #5
    Like a burned copy of XP.
     
  6. jjj23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #7
  7. nintendude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #8
    You can't install XP through Remote Disk
     

Share This Page