Windows Pings OS X, but not other way around

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by zflauaus, Jul 5, 2008.

  1. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #1
    I got a MacBook Pro today and gave my old iBook to my sister and we're trying to move her iTunes collection (8+ GB) over the network to her iBook, but OS X will not see her Windows XP machine at all. We have no firewalls enabled on any of our computers. Weird thing is, Windows can ping the OS X machines, but OS X cannot ping Windows.

    Anybody have suggestions?
     
  2. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #2
    I realise this comment is not that helpful, but I would not transfer +8GB over the network. Windows' TCP/IP stack is very bad in handling lots of files. USB memory sticks are very cheap nowadays and it's a lot easier way to share files between Win/Mac.
     
  3. zflauaus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #3
    Well, it's a nice alternative and I'll think about it, but I'd much rather transfer over the network since it's there.
     
  4. bstreiff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #4
    What? You're doing something wrong, then. I've had no trouble doing large data transfers over the network between Windows, OS X, and Linux. (go Samba!) Sounds like you have a flaky ethernet card or wireless card.

    Anyway, back on topic: the reason OS X can't ping Windows is likely because the Windows Firewall is turned on; I believe one of its default options is to block ICMP packets, which the ping utility uses.
     
  5. zflauaus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #5
    Like I said, I have no firewalls enabled, including the Windows Firewall.
     
  6. bstreiff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #6
    That's interesting, then-- the only way I can get OS X to not be able to ping Windows is if I have the Windows Firewall on (specifically, with the 'Allow incoming echo request' option unchecked under Advanced->ICMP).

    I'm not sure, then.
     
  7. eddyq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #7
    I'm having the reverse problem. I can ping from Mac to Windows but not from Windows to Mac. Is there a firewall on the Mac?
     
  8. eddyq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #8
    I found the firwall settings. They default to not allowing anything, not even a ping.
     

Share This Page