Windows problem in parallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by cool11, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. cool11 macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #1
    Something gone wrong on my windows installation inside parallels.
    I have one of the latest parallels 3 builds and windows as always is unstable.
    I wonder how can I return back to a previous state in windows enviroment.
    I have not setup 'snapshots' feature, I don't know if this works automatically or I had to deal with it when windows worked properly. Maybe now it is too late for snapshots to help me.

    But I backup the whole mac hard disk with superduper. I have a cloned disk to an external hard disk, just a few days before windows get into trouble.

    I think about just copying the paralllels image file (I don't remember the .extension, the one with windows installation) from backup disk and paste it to original macbook pro hard disk.

    Will this help me to have a good working copy of my windows installation?

    Do you suggest me to do something else?
     
  2. cmuench macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #2
    You can use System Restore inside your windows install(assuming xp or vista) and use that to go back.
     
  3. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #3
    Unfortunately I had turn it off. So this option does not exist.
     
  4. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
  5. Carrot007 macrumors regular

    Carrot007

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    #5
    I'd just delete everything and do a fresh windows install.

    It does not take long with parallels and is much faster and less time consuming that messing around with a broken windows instalation.

    Then backup your fresh install to a dvd so so don't even have to do that next time.
     

Share This Page