Windows Program Won't Run On Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by EgyptinMagicin, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. EgyptinMagicin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #1
    I have a 15-inch MacBook Pro, the new unibody ones, and I installed Windows XP, using BootCamp.

    I made it a 29 or so GB partition, so it used the FAT32 formatting.

    The program I tried to install is the eyeQ speed reading program, and the laptop exceeds every single one of the recommended requirements.

    The problem comes when I am attempting to install the program, I keep getting an error message in which it says "This program cannot run on a computer with less than 64 megabytes of ram."

    Last time I checked my laptop has 4 GB of ram, and it says the same thing when I checked it while running Windows XP.

    My only guess, which I made while typing this, was that I should have formatted the Windows partition using NTSF.

    Any help would be appreciated!
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    How old is the program? 4GB might be too much.
     
  3. EgyptinMagicin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #3
    The program isn't that old, the date on the cd says 2002, but I don't understand how too much would make a difference.

    To add to my first post, I checked how much is available for other programs, and just under 2 GB of ram is left.
     
  4. CamelHater macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #4
    Many Things

    Did You try updating Windows? Sometimes that helps... sorta reminds me of taking pics of my crap and sending it to people for lols. Windows update is the same kind of thing its dumb, but sometimes is just the thing you need for stuff to work.
     
  5. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    There is no reason why this shouldn't run under your configuration. Boot Camp isn't going to prevent an application from running. You're running it natively. I mean I guess maybe if something really hated EFI, you might have a problem, but still. Has anyone ever come across a game/app that didn't work on Windows under Boot Camp?

    If I could somehow get my hands on the software I'd try it out for you. But there has to be something else going on here. It won't just not work because of Boot Camp.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Try running the application under a compatibility mode.
     
  7. EgyptinMagicin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #7
    I've never had, until now, or know anyone who had an issue running a Windows program on Bootcamp...

    But how do I run this under a compatibility mode..I've never heard of that..
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Right-click the shortcut and choose Properties. There should be a Compatibility tab.
     
  9. EgyptinMagicin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #9
    I just spent about 30 minutes running the compatibility mode, and nothing worked.

    I keep getting the same 64 megabyte or higher message.
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    It sounds like the program is checking the amount of RAM, but the developer couldn't fathom anyone having 4GB of RAM (that whole 32-bit limit and all) so the actual amount of RAM appears to be outside the accepted limits.

    That's the only reason I can think of.
     
  11. EgyptinMagicin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #11
    I called the company today to see if they could help me resolve the issue.

    Apparently, once I mentioned that it was running via BootCamps, I had some trouble getting help, because that was "the only new variable."

    So, as of this point, I have two options
    1) Pay $50 to buy just the disc for the newer version, that MAY run
    2) Go to an Apple store and see what they can do

    Does anyone have anymore suggestions as to what to do?
     
  12. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    Take out a stick of RAM and see if the program runs. That will tell you if it's a problem with the amount of RAM you have installed.
     
  13. EgyptinMagicin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #13
    So, I took out the ram, and nothing.

    Is there anything else that can be done?
     
  14. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Does anyone else have this software and could run it in Boot Camp?
     

Share This Page