Windows recognizes iPhone as a digital camera?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by likemyorbs, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    So I'm bored at work right now and I just plugged my iPhone into my work pc with no iTunes. It recognizes it as a digital camera and shows me all my pics. My question is if it's that easy to get all your pics copied off your iPhone on windows, why is it a whole process on mac? Unless I'm missing something and it's just as easy on mac? Because I know you can't do it on iTunes...
     
  2. jason72780 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    When I plug my phone in, iPhoto opens up and with 1 click imports them in. Not a hard process at all.
     
  3. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #3
    What he said.

    I actually get annoy when iphoto opens when I plug in my iphone. I turned it off.
     
  4. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #4
    Image Capture pops up for me, not iPhoto.

    (I don't have iPhoto installed, see.)
     
  5. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #5
    Same here.
    Don't know where the setting is though...
     
  6. andreab35 macrumors 6502a

    andreab35

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    On Vista my iPhone was always recognized as a camera. Vista is over now.
    But anyways, when I plug in my iPhone, iTunes opens up on my Mac. To import photos, I just open iPhoto myself.
     
  7. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    This thread is STRANGE.

    "I don't know how this works on a Mac. I assume it's hard, why did they make it hard??"

    Like...what the heck?
     
  8. likemyorbs thread starter macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    No what I meant was it's more difficult to have to open iPhoto to do it rather than just coming up as a device in finder
     
  9. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #9
    Opening a new finder window then selecting the camera: 2 clicks
    Opening iPhoto and selecting the camera: 2 clicks


    After that you'd have to copy/import them to your drive exactly the same.
    Dunno...seems pretty much the same to me.

    (And people who don't like iPhoto can use Image Capture instead, so they have that choice.)
     
  10. Rusalka macrumors regular

    Rusalka

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #10
    Erm, maybe your mac is defective? cause annoyingly iPhoto came up every time i plugged my phone in, ect.
     
  11. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #11
    If it's annoying you then go to Image Capture and turn it off. No reason an optional setting should annoy anyone. Turn it off.
     

Share This Page