Windows seeing hole mac HD on network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Reao, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. Reao macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #1
    i jest trended on my sharing and jest it up so windows can get on. when i went to see if it showed up it was not showing up when i tipped in that IP. so i went to my networks in windows to jest to see and there in the network was my hole mac HD not jest my public folder!!! what do i do how can i make it not do that.
     
  2. Reao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #2
    and it was not jest my HD all of the HD and flash drives plugged into my macbook where showing up in windows.
     
  3. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    What Router are you using? and could it be that you don't have a password on your computer?
     
  4. Reao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #4
    its a netgear one and i do have a password.
     
  5. Reao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #6
    that is what i am having but i dont remember even disabling guest or even having the option to. could it be that my mac and Xp have the same passwords?
     
  6. TJones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #7
    Well are you logging on as yourself or as a guest when you open your mac over the network?
     
  7. Reao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #8
    myself i do not have a guest set up on my mac.
     
  8. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9
    follow my guide in post #3 here to only share your public folder.
     
  9. Reao thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #10
    thank you that was it.
     

Share This Page