Windows software on Mac help?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sallyomally, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. sallyomally macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #1
    I have a Macbook Pro and I got Windosws installed on it so it was a PC in a Mac body because i do not know how to use Macs. After months of using it with Windows, I turned it off and when I turned it back on, it was running with Mac software. How do I fix this?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    It probably booted back into OSX

    Go into System Preferences (in the dock), select the Startup Disk icon. Highlight the windows volume and click restart.

    That should boot you back into windows.
     
  3. Deedolito macrumors regular

    Deedolito

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #3
    Got to System Settings, Startvolume and select "Bootcamp" than press restart.
    Alternatively press the option key while booting the machine and select your windows partition (bootcamp).

    € did it really take me 2mins. to write this? :D
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    It shouldn't have since, it only took me 10 seconds ;)

    And I beat you to the punch :D
     
  5. Deedolito macrumors regular

    Deedolito

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
  6. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    Why did you overpay for a Mac only to run windows?

    Don't be afraid of change, Mac OS X is actually much more user friendly than windows is, how about you give it a try before ditching it completely?
     
  7. sallyomally thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #7
    where?

    Can you give me exact directions please? I Don;t know if I'm in the right section and I can't find the volume thing? Thanks for your help :)
     
  8. windowstomac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #8
    Or do it gradually by using Parallels, then you have the best of both worlds at the same time!

    After 3 weeks, I probably go into my Windows VM less than once a day...
     
  9. sallyomally thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #9
    Well it's actually not mine it is a friends. I just didn't think it would be important to say that.
     
  10. nickjf20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #10
    On the dock, click on the little picture with cogs on.

    Then when the window appears, click on the picture which says 'Startup Disc' underneath it.

    Then wait a few seconds, then select the Windows Disk (often bootcamp) and then select 'restart' to reboot into windows.
     

Share This Page