Windows Support Software in Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by callmemike20, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. callmemike20 macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I don't remember having to do this before, but...

    I just reformatted and am setting up boot camp again. This time, it is asking me to download windows support software to a disk or external hard drive. I put in a blank CD, but nothing happens after I hit burn. If I hit next, it just takes me back to the same screen. What's the deal?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Which Mac and OS version? There's something you need to run on the 27" iMacs in particular IIRC.

    B
     
  3. callmemike20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Macbook Pro 2.2ghz (June 2007)
     
  4. h4mmer34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #4
    Im having the same problem on my old white macbook5,2
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Which OS X version?

    That's not the problem you were previously having is that new? After you upgraded to Snow Leopard?

    B
     
  6. h4mmer34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #6
    Yes its new. Now that its saying i need to download the support software. I guess this means it replaces the osx install disk to get the drivers.
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Very strange. Back to the way it was in 1.x. Maybe this is how they are working around the issues with installing stale drivers from the disc on newer Macs.

    B
     
  8. callmemike20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I have snow leopard. I ended up just clicking the button that says I already had the software on a disc. Then, I just used my snow leopard CD and then updated to 3.2 through apple update. It works.
     
  9. Cialti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #9
    I think it's a new problem -- I'm setting up my new 27" iMac, and had exactly the same problem. But only a few weeks ago I set up Boot Camp on another 27" iMac and it didn't work this way. I'm wondering if it's part of the OS X update today.
     
  10. callmemike20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    You could be right about that. The only thing is that the last boot camp update was 3.2, which came out in November.
     
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    The most recent code may have already included this feature for some time now, but it only got activated when they populated the back end servers. (Maybe related to the App Store?).

    B
     
  12. h4mmer34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #12
    I just did this and it works. Thanks.
     
  13. kaykay23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #13
    I am running into this as well, however, I don't have the snow leppard disc anymore. I only have the original disk that came with my macbook (my macbook pro is like 1.5 year old). Any suggestions? Can I just use that disc?

    Also, when it goes into the windows set-up, it is not recognizing drivers off of the windows disc (with the iso file). I tried twice already...
     
  14. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #14
    You didn't say what version of Windows you installed. Windows 7 support requires Snow Leopard, but many of us were already running pre-release versions of w7 using the Vista drivers from Leopard.

    Either way you can try installing Bootcamp.msi or Bootcamp64.msi from either the ISO you "obtained" or the disc you have if it doesn't automatically launch.

    B
     
  15. kaykay23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #15
    thanks for the response. I am in the process of trying to install windows 7 pro. I am stuck on the step where it is giving me the following message: "A required CD?DVD drive device driver is missing. If you have a driver floppy disk, CD, DVD, or USB flash drive, please insert it now". This is a seperate issue, one that many people seem to have when doing fresh windows installs off of burned install discs. I misplaced the software cd so I downloaded the iso file online and burned it with imgburn. Not really sure what to do here.

    Regarding the windows support software, are you saying I absolutely need the snow leopard disc? I am not very computer literate when it comes to this kind of stuff, so your assistance is appreciated... I installed snow leopard a while ago off of my buddy's disc so I only have the original software disc that came with the laptop.
     
  16. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    For someone in your shoes who admits not being very computer literate I would recommend swinging by your local Apple vendor and picking up a Snow Leopard update CD. The US$29 is well worth it in the amount of time you will save if you don't know what you are doing.

    Either that or pay the buddy a visit and borrow his disc again.

    Windows 7 is only supported by Snow Leopard, anything else requires knowing what you are doing.

    B
     
  17. callmemike20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    I don't think its your CD's problem. I think its your MacBook. If you are trying to install a 64 bit copy of Windows, that is most likely your problem. However, 1.5 years old would make it a June-ish 2009 model, and I believe those have support for 64 bit. Either way, the Snow Leopard disk won't help you until you get a working copy of windows.
     

Share This Page